Philippines - Onward to Puerto Galera


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Puerto Galera
February 6th 2009
Published: February 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Puerto GaleraPuerto GaleraPuerto Galera

On the ferry!

Day 2



We got up early and headed out for Puerto Galera. We decided to be adventurous and the public transportation route. Actually Greg was probably just a cheap ass and I wanted to sleep in. All valid reasons. So we cab to the bus terminal and we're being sent down this line of buses looking for the one that goes to Batangas Pier. Person after person tells me to "keep going". Then finally, some guy says, "Batangas here", and points to a bus.

I get on and it's actually better than I thought, it was air-conditioned. I thought I was going to have to roast through a 2 hour ride. We asked the man what time the bus was leaving because we wanted to pick up some snacks and he said in about half an hour. Greg looked at the time and said, "so...at 10:40?", and the man sort of shrugged. We said we wanted to go get some snacks and they said "well hurry, make it fast". I think the buses go whenever they want.

As we approach Batangas Pier, some man gets on the bus and asks for people going to Puerto Galera. We put
TricycleTricycleTricycle

In a tricycle on to way to White Beach
our hands up and he says, "okay I can get you on a ferry at 1:30pm". We look at each other, we don't know any better, sounds good to us. Now you're probably waiting to hear that we got ferried off to somewhere remote and creepy but not true. Other than the guy was working for a tip, we got where we needed to. It was a whirlwind experience though, it was one counter after another, first the ferry ticket, then the terminal ticket, then there's an environmental fee we have to pay...and then WOOSH, we're on the ferry.

We dock at Muelle Pier, where again we're wooshed away to our resort, Badladz. You don't have to ask for help in the Philippines, you'll get help whether you want it or not and they're expecting a tip. Luckily, the dollar is worth so much compared to the peso. Otherwise, I'm not sure I could afford the Philippines. However, they do have false assumptions about foreigners and their ability to dish out money like it's water. Sure, I may have more money than you do but my living expenses back home are a hell of a lot more than yours
White BeachWhite BeachWhite Beach

Greg frolicking.
and DUDE, I chose to vacation in the Philippines because I'm on a budget. Even the children there are taught to beg for money. All they got was lots of ice-cream from me.

It was pretty cloudy when we first arrived but Greg was determined to go to the beach, so we jumped in a tricycle and headed to White Beach. It even started raining a little and Greg was annoyed because he bought swim trunks that didn't fit him. He must have bought them for $50 at the mall and then bought some for $5 at a little booth near the beach. This time, they were too big and you could see his ass crack the entire time. Not unlike his usual attire. I didn't go swimming but Greg frolicked in the water despite the clouds and rain. I made a deal with some dude to go snorkeling the next day.







Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb