Snorkelling in Puerto Galera


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Puerto Galera
February 6th 2009
Published: February 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 3



Strangely enough, I didn't want to sleep on my vacation. I woke up at about 7:30am most mornings, maybe laid around in bed until 8:00am but was bouncing around as soon as the sun came up. It felt good, unlike the volatile fight I have with myself every morning here in Incheon to get up and go to school.

Best thing about Badladz - the Mexican restaurant. It's HEAVEN. We must have ate their for all 3 meals every day we were there. The resort itself is situated on a pier so there isn't a beach...just boats to look at. The rooms were pretty basic but clean and decent enough. BUT the Mexican restaurant, anyone could have eaten themselves out of a depression here and that, I achieved. My feelings of despair and bitterness living in Korea just melted away onto my plate of refried beans, rice, and cheesy gooey burrito. I still dream about it now.

We took our time eating breakfast and dawdled down to White Beach. We hardly had to search for the snorkel guys, as soon as we stepped onto the boardwalk, as precise as a hawk's eye and fast as a cheetah, they were all over us. "Hello ma'am, our boat is ready for you, it's just over there. We thought you were not coming." So we were whisked off on their boat with a bag of bread in our hands for fishy feeding.

We asked to see the "giant clams" because apparently, there are giant clams in Puerto Galera. Big enough to swallow your foot. They said, "Sure, sure, but you will need a guide", so somehow we got roped into getting a snorkel guide (the boatman's brother it turns out), which was kinda cool anyway I suppose. It's the only time I've ever had a snorkel guide like this. You hang on to this contraption that they've attached to the side of the boat and they tow you around in the water.

Alas, we couldn't really see the giant clams snorkelling, they were too far down. But we saw some beautiful coral and fish. They would swarm us because we had bread. It was awesome. A few times, I thought I was going to smash into a sea urchin and Greg did almost sit on one while trying to "escape" me. We were playing this game of grab each other's feet but when I tried to take his arm or hand to show him something...he would flail and swim away. He later on told me that he thought it was a game.

After a couple hours of this, I was salty, wet, and satisfied. I would also like everyone to know I found Nemo! Him and his entire family. Not to worry.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb