In Cebu


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cebu
May 29th 2006
Published: May 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey you knuckleheads. Right now Im in Cebu, aka grimey as all hell. This place is definitely not poetic in any sense of the word. It is certainly a contrast to the two islands we visited before coming here. We just got here from Malipasqua which was pretty cool. That island is starting to become westernized by the day. We stayed there so we could contrast the effect of tourism on the island compared to Boracay which we will be going to in a few days. Last night we went to a disco on the island and everyone had a really good time. Despite all the good times I have been writing about, trust me when I say that this place is not easy at all. The smallest things I have been missing a lot. For instance a lot of places we have been you cant get running water whenever you want and like on the islands, you only get electricity a couple hours in the day. It is crazy to actually live like the impoverished people you read and hear about. Mom you always use to tell me to think about the people in the world who have nothing and try to always teach me to never take anything for granted. Well this is the biggest lesson I have ever had. I know first hand what its like to live like those people and realize how much I do take for granted. Hell the majority of the people here dont even use toilet paper, they wipe with their hands. Trust me when I say that this whole experience has left a huge imprint on my life and has given me so much. As much fun as this is, at the same time its really hard to give up the simplest things that we take for granted in the US. Well back to how dirty Cebu is. Today I was walkin with some people back from lunch and a little kid grabbed me beggin for money. I am pretty certain that this kid has not seen a shower in his whole life. He was covered in filth. To think that there are kids who have no life but sleeping on sidewalks and beggin for pesos is insane, but to walk by them and have them tugging on you is unreal. The homeless people in America live like Gods compared to these people. I have so much to talk about when I get back and I am excited to see everyone. I will have access to the internet every day here on out so I can keep in touch regularly. Bye for now yall.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb