Philippine Adventures # 2


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cebu » Mactan Island
February 1st 2009
Published: February 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Philippine Adventure # 2

The temperature in my room is humid, strictly humid with the just the fan on, if I were to put on the air conditioner, it gets too cold. There is no particular number the Celsius or degrees needs to be when you feel sticky regardless. I’m starring at my computer writing my fifth installment of being here on Mactan in the ‘PI’ as it’s known. It’s half past 5 pm on a Sunday afternoon, it’s turning into night with the wind dancing around the island and the trees parading along with the tropical weather here in Mactan. I just finished listening to Telepopmusik in my itunes library and that song never seizes to bore me with its melody. It’s one song that is emotive with it’s calmness and vocals, so describing it now as I type, starring at the computer, looking outside, contemplating going to work out after this entry, then possibly finishing my fried rice I ordered today; for those few minutes of listening to the lyrics of ‘Breathe,’ I practice what I learned the moment I was brought into this world, to breathe. It’s a captivating song and every journey I go on, I listen to it as it reminds me to take it all in for what it is and live it while I can.

I write this on a Sunday evening after being here for nearly two weeks. I’ve gotten to know more people for one and also was able to test my ability underwater during our training for future projects. Everyone that I have met so far has been a great contribution to my life living and working here, as I’m attracted to the knowledge of diversity entrusted with creativity. Since I’m interning for Fashion TV Asia, for the first few weeks of being here, we are in sales helping administration to quickly get familiar with the way they operate here at Bigfoot Entertainment. It’s been beneficiary since I have gotten more familiar with the students, staff, and interns. I will start with Monday leading up until the intro of this blog for the conclusion starting with, ‘starring in front of the computer typing.’

Earlier today I watched a couple documentaries with Sunny who is 19 years old from Calcutta, India. I find him a rare breed amongst the minute quantity of Indians I’ve built
Oiling, Merrile and IOiling, Merrile and IOiling, Merrile and I

Just got done training with Ken Ken
a friendship with in my life. Even though I lived in England where it’s heavily populated with Indians, I never was around long enough to get to know any, nor have I had the opportunity to really get to know anyone still residing there. I find Sunny in particularly fascinating with his ability to in vision his ideas into filmmaking, his life growing up in India, his stance in his beliefs, his eccentricity of being a neo-hippy. I met him this past week when I was hanging out with a few people last Friday, he was sitting at our table at Tiki quiet and unattached. I liked his style, even though he’s a young guy and I’m sure a few people think we have something going on, the only thing going on is us sharing stories, learning about cultures, clashing, and agreeing. I know he’s going to be a future Bollywood filmmaker with complexity on his side, all he has to do is to remember to not be lazy. (LOL) The past two nights we’ve gone out into the city, so today was ‘chillaxin’ day watching documentaries in the room.


After my trip to Olango last Sunday, I went to bed relatively early to be fresh for the new week. Last Sunday morning when I headed to Olango with the crew I was with, Merrile was asked to go get the other model that was coming in for her internship. Hailing from Malaysia, standing at 6 ft tall, Chinese-Malay, Oi Ling had arrived for her internship so now there is a total of three models. Monday morning she did her orientation while Merrile and I did our first underwater exercise with Ramon the trainer. At 8 am, we did our normal work out at the dance studio before heading over to Celi hotel, which is situated on the other side of the Bigfoot building that caters to ESL tenants. Finally, we were able to start our preparation for underwater shooting and it started with how great our ability was to hold our breath underwater. The water was so cold for us that we couldn’t really hold it too long without shivering like prissy babies. I managed to hold it for 35 seconds for the first time and 39 second time around, which is ok for it being our first attempt, but I wasn’t too happy with that number. Later on that day we were to meet with Ken Ken, our scuba instructor to begin learning how to use the gear for our future shoots. We met at around 3 pm, jumped into Celi pool again and proceeded with minimal exercises. The following day we were to do it, this time with Oi Ling in tow, so by the time the end of the week came, we would be in the ocean. However, because the water was so cold, it was cancelled for the following day.

I’ve been hanging out with all types of people to get to know them, especially in the evening once we clock out. Last Friday when I met Sunny, I also met his friend TJ who is a tall skinny Filipino from Davao on Mindanao Island, south of Cebu Island. These two guys are total hippies, which is fascinating to me because they are both extremely eclectic in their own ways. While Sunny lives here at Casablanca, TJ has his own place just 15 mins walk down the road. Before I get into TJ and Sunny, I have to mention Haisom my Pakistani friend who is veeeerrry unique, and he knows it. He’s been another interesting person I’ve gotten to know with him being a bit of an odd character but that’s what makes him who he is. Atheist from Karachi, talented with the guitar and a huge fan of Dave Matthews, Haisom is someone that you would want to get to know, because he is a different breed. I like hanging out with him simply because we’re pretty straightforward with each other. If he’s being weird, I’ll tell him, “dude you’re being weird,” it’s all in good fun, harmless. For that, it has created a friendship amongst us that’s silly, uncomplicated, and humorous as he’s slightly out of the ordinary. Haisom is Haisom and I told him as long as he’s a good person and knows he is apart from being interesting, that’s all that really matters to me, no body is normal. Like me, he just puts it out there for people to accept or not to accept, I respect that.



What has just dawned on me is something I failed to mention in my recent blogs and that is of me loosing my debit card the first few days I arrived here. Once again, touching on how genius I am managing to keep a hold of it back home with no problem, the first week I come to the Philippines, I loose it. A few months back reflecting on how I use to deal with a situation like that, I would get angry with myself thinking how could I make such a silly mistake of loosing my debit card. However, up until a few months ago where I started thinking about life and it’s trials and tribulations differently, I don’t find myself getting mad anymore ironically enough and my patience has become slightly more tolerant. Not to say I’ve grown to have patience for everything, but I have developed a notion within me to understand that some things in life just happen even if it is ridiculously silly, and to just sit back, put myself in check and create a solution to the problem rather then dwell on it. So for that, even though I lost my debit card and had no way of getting money, being the Virgo that I am, I put my mind to use, analyzing the situation to make it work without worrying about it so much. Now, I laugh
car ride to Formo and Vuducar ride to Formo and Vuducar ride to Formo and Vudu

With Samir, Merrile, and Hash.
at situations that would irate me before, and figure to just sort it out in a timely manner. This entire week I’ve had no money and it’s a good story to put in the book when you can talk about eating bread for a day or two, drinking nothing but water, accepting people wanting to help out during a minor glitch of financial access.


TJ made me pasta at his place Tuesday night, while I played with poi outside, and Sunny watched me attempt tricks. Thankfully, I met people in my life who were there for me when I needed some help, so of course I’m going to take it because it’s meaningful and doesn’t go left unspoken for. I often tell people if someone offers you help in a time in need, and you know inside you would do the same if you had the means, take the help and accept the offer, because you don’t know what it could lead to and how it will contribute to your story of your life. Despite having no access to money and my other debit card not being able to work in the ATM, I managed to set up my payments from the company to where I budget within a certain amount each week but had to wait until it cleared. Needless to say, even though I had no access of funds, I wasn’t going to let hold me back from laughing about it, talking about it, learning from it.


Now that I covered some minor details during my stay here thus far, going back to this past week, Tuesday Merrile, Oiling and I didn’t do anything as the water was too cold to practice in and Ken Ken was sick from the day before so we were to resume our exercises the following day in the afternoon. Instead, it was pushed back to Wed, so for the rest of the day we worked in sales in the main building, writing our weekly blogs, answering the phones, etc. Tuesday evening I was with TJ and Sunny. Wednesday morning us models did our water exercises with Ken Ken at scuba world only this time with a wetsuit on, regulator, and oxygen tanks. We learned the hand signals, how to clear out the goggles if needed and how long we were able to hold our breath. It was one-on-one training of the same exercises we have previously learned in the pool thirty minutes each. I waited to go last while I chilled out under the open patio watching the other two take their turns. Finally, it was mine and I must admit, I was excited to learn how to use the gear out in the sea and the thought of shooting underwater is overwhelming so I was determined to make sure I didn’t mess up during my lesson, push myself more, and most importantly being relaxed during all the training so it stabilizes any potential panicking. Panicking while out in the sea was the last thing I wanted to endure, Ken Ken is a great teacher as well, a small Filipino guy with personality. I succeeded with my determination to get the exercises down to a T, swim with the fish, touch the ocean floor, and hold my breathe for longer then previous. Hooray for me, hooray for all three of us models successfully achieving the fundamentals of diving and not being incompetent to get the hang of it. I held my breath for one minute and that was my best yet. After our lesson at scuba
Local fishLocal fishLocal fish

I had to take a photo of this while walking to TJ's.
world, it was back at Bigfoot to freshen up and head into the sales department to work the rest of the day. Wednesday evening I went to Marina mall with Sunny as he invited me to eat Thai for dinner, and of course I took him up on the offer. It was quite generous of him.

The following day we were scheduled to practice at scuba world again so we needed to quickly learn the basics as it was going to only progress out into the depths of the sea. Just kidding, only about 20-30 feet underwater. I felt fairly comfortable underwater learning how to use the gear accordingly in order to start shooting soon, I was itching to go out the next day in the ocean. Thursday we had lunch at scuba world with this local sushi dish, fried rice, calamari, and this killer fatty dish that consisted of egg, onions, grease, and whatever else that makes it tasty. Then, from there it was back to Bigfoot to work the rest of the day in the lobby.


Thursday evening I put in an intense work out for close to two hours even though I felt exhausted from that day. Not only did we dive for training, but we also trained with Ramon in the morning in the studio using free weights, leg lifts, and arms so my body was getting a work out. However, I needed that extra push of cardio for my personal satisfaction of breaking sweat and toning up. I figured it was a good way to practice breathing especially in the humidity that I’m adapting to more so now finally, contrary to last week where I felt slug like. There is no treadmill in the gym, so I’m forced to use the cross trainer and bicycle for cardio workouts. I turn on my Ipod, zone out and tell myself I’m now in incognito mode with no one around that matters during this time but myself achieving my physical fitness. I’m sweating profusely due to the humidity but after two hours of committed work, I felt like I could kick anyone’s butt who comes my way. Shortly after, I met up with Sunny to walk down to a small café close by called La Luna Café for dinner.

It took maybe a minute passed the facility to get there right on the main road, and what I found attractive of the place first hand was it being a store that sold jewelry inside and serving food outside. La Luna is distinctive in it’s own way visibly to me by the way it’s set up with the few tables arranged outside separating the road from the store. For 170 Php you get succulent chicken, fried rice, and two cokes. It wasn’t bad, there are only two places in the world where I’ve tasted killer chicken, and I remember exactly where I’ve had it from, Italy and China. There have been no other place that can overtake those two places in terms of chicken I’ve personally had, but the PI is closely behind. After we were finished, I had a look around the shop to admire the bracelets, necklaces, and earrings all custom made. It gave me an idea in regards to a concept I want to carry out utilizing the jewelry, so I’m going to see if I can put something together for the near future where we can benefit from without costing an arm and leg for it We came back to the hotel and messed around with Mac’s photo
dirt roaddirt roaddirt road

You can't see it unfortunately, but it's there.
booth program being Mac book nerds before I said it was time to turn in.


When Friday morning came, we were scheduled to go out in the afternoon diving but Ken Ken ended up being ill from the past few days we were out so all we did was work in reception all day until 5 pm. That evening quite a bit of us decided to go out to VuDu where I went the previous Friday night, so we all got ready to caravan into Cebu city first meeting up at FORMO to have a few drinks before trekking over to VuDu. I was privileged to be in the taxi with Hash from Iran, Merrile originally from Manila now residing on the Gold Coast in Australia, Samir originally born in Iran raised in Sweden, and myself, the girl from San Diego. Our ride into Cebu was fun, we shared some Tanduay in the back seat as we were all on a budget this weekend, and I managed to get some footage of the ride as well, quite entertaining. Once we got to FORMO, I immediately started dancing around to let loose yet more energy that was built up from the week. There were students and interns from all categories at Bigfoot Entertainment so it was great to hang with such a big group having a good time. At 12:30 am it was off to VuDu to get our boogy on. Getting to VuDu was a quick ride over, walking up thirteen people deep ready to let loose.

Friday night consisted of great fun with a good crowd but ending it a little tipsy that spilled over into Saturday afternoon. I lounged around in my bed until about 4 pm when I text TJ to see what he was doing and if I could come and bug him. Sunny was off on Olango Island doing charity work and would be cruising over later. Both Sunny and TJ along with others take tricycles or jeepneys around but I thought it would be good exercise to walk to his place, having been there only once I figured I might as well test my GPS skills walking to his. I enjoyed walking along the road watching people lingering about on the streets, seeing vendors, children playing, even a high school close by. When I arrived, we watched movies on his Mac book, made some pasta while Sunny showed up from his day trip. We planned to go out that evening back to Vudu because we were in a dancing mood again, and this time, not a drinking mood. We took a cab to the club, only stayed for probably an hour before heading to a really cool restaurant called Leonardos.



When I walk into the place, turns out it’s a log cabin with a rustic feel to it, and we ended up sitting at a table full of affluent beautiful Filipinas. I was taken aback by how fluent and commonly used the English language was amongst such a diverse race. I starred at three girls in front of me aging from 20-22 raised in Cebu. One was born in Cebu, lived in Phoenix and then moved back to Cebu who resembled Shannon Elizabeth. The other two had these classy looks to them but just by observing how exotic these girls were, this place is a melting pot. I didn’t want to stare too much as I didn’t want them to think I was a complete weirdo, just admiring their naturalism and how much they remind me of the states, it’s difficult to believe I was in Cebu. We didn’t stay too long at Leonardo’s as Sunny and I were tired so we left TJ there with the lovely ladies including two Canadians traveling around the Philippines for a holiday before going back to Korea where they teach English. Sunny and I went to McDonalds to eat quickly before grabbing a cab back to Mactan.


Now it’s Sunday evening ending this blog with ‘here I am sitting starring at my computer again.’ During the time I have been typing this Sunny and another Indian guy named Hemanth who is interning for Fashion TV as a photographer, watching comedian Russell Peters on a laptop. I didn’t do anything today other then wake up, eat and start this blog that I am now ending. Tomorrow it’s back to work for us, training in the morning and then into the water for more lessons with Ken Ken. This is one great incentive about working for Bigfoot as an intern model, learning how to dive is a great experience so I’m pretty stoked on that opportunity. Plus Merrile and Oiling are cool ladies as well, Oiling being as tall
LeonardosLeonardosLeonardos

I haven't drank a single beer in 5 years, and I still haven't to this day. But seeing this picture with the amount of beers on display on our table, I had to take a photo of it.
as she is, we often joke around that she’s intimidating. Tomorrow I believe we are doing more diving out the ocean and I’m hoping I can hold my breathe longer then before, it’s pretty exhilarating being able to swim underwater and get used to being able to breathe underwater. When I did my exercise of being free from gear for long period of time out in the ocean, I felt pretty relaxed in terms of my breathing and performing the necessary skills so I don’t run out of oxygen, I’m looking forward to the first time we actually start shooting so I can I pretend I’m the little mermaid and show myself what I’m capable of doing.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.331s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1875s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb