Umbrella surfing in Boracay


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Boracay
October 29th 2011
Published: October 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After an uneventful flight from Manila, I had 12 hours to wait before my flight to Roxas. As it turns out, the philippines furnish several cities with the same name, so the Roxas on Palawan I wanted to go to does not have an airport and I ended up at the Roxas city in Western Visayas rather than the Roxas in Palawan. There are definatley worse mistakes to make in life though, as Boracay Island was only 4 hours away. So after a lengthy flight from Sydney to Manila, 6 hours terible sleep in an expensive room in Manila and no alarm clock, I managed to wake up in time for my flight to the wrong airport. A 1 hour flight, a 4 hour ride in a van with capacity of 9, but 13 people occupying the seats, a 2nd much nicer van with airconditioning, a 15 minute boat ride, a tricycle trip and a 20 minute walk in 35 degree temperatures, I finally managed to find a place to stay. The way I figured it, it was worth paying a couple of hundred pesos extra for an airconditioned room, if it meant I could take my backpack off for a while. The word on the street was Boracay was a mesmorising place, and all I was worried about was the heat. So back pack off, additional money over to the lady with dollar signs in her eyes and straight to the beach for me.
The word of the street was right. Those that follow Alex Garland like I do can get the feeling of finally walking down to the beach... My place was about 100 meters from the beach. Upon the short walk to the sand, with Moby playing in the subconscious, the sun on my face, the wind in my short hair... White beach is spectacular... no matter what happens, the sand is bright white and the water is crystal clear... White beach is about 5 kilometers from end to end, and unforgettable the entire way. Littered with hawkers and touts, as well as resorts and restaurants, no to mention package holiday Chinese families and honeymooners, all that can be forgiven just to stare out at its magnificence. I spent 7 nights in Boracay and it took all my considerable strength to leave. Sure, the accomodation is more expensive then most of the Philippines, the food is tailored to couples and the touts make a living selling you things you dont need or want, but its just infinately beautiful. For the first few days I largely ignored my social needs and just sat under the beach umbrellas at station 3, sipping on Pineapple and Mango shakes or Red Horse beer as the time dictated. It took a good 5 days before I dragged myself off the beach and paid for an organised snorkelling trip around the island. There is geniunely good diving and snorkelling around Boracay. Some of you may remember I used to collect salt water fish... There are tomato clown fish, wrasses, morish idols, cleaner fish, tangs, angel fish... apparently reef sharks although I didnt find any... empty beaches that you could see Robinson Crusoe sitting on. Of course there is more than just a beach. Good restaurants, good bars, D mall, various zoos (i hate the idea of zoos by the way), people from all walks of life, did I mention drinking on the beach under the umbrellas?
On my last night I was out with various random people, as you do, from England, Finland, America, Israel (I had never met an Isralie before the philippines, now I know about 15) etc. Found some random bar called Pirates owned by an English chick... live music, cheap beer, rain outside, leaky roof, no shoes, good burgers... talk was cheap and it always is. You get the lay of the land through mutual experience. I really love the difference between conversation while your away from home compared to the drab talk between those you know and love. Everybody travelling is aching for conversation, compared to the dribble that becomes the norm while at home. It is geniunely interesting to hear about mandatory armed service for Isralie nationals, not to mention the difference between Celtic and Rangers in the SPL. I left Boracay with a heavy heart which was somewhat softened by the pending arrival in Palawan. Bring on El Nido!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb