Island hopping in paradise


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Boracay
July 26th 2023
Published: October 26th 2023
Edit Blog Post

The island hopping adventures have kicked in to full gear, as I continue my travels in the wonderful Philippines. Soon after arriving in the islands, a lot of the talk has been about Siargao. To be honest, I had never heard of the island but it seems to be the happening spot now for travellers and locals alike. Well, this mysterious island will remain a mystery no more as I flew in from Cebu for a week's stay. All of the reviews online were raving about a particular hostel, and although a little way off the main road and requiring some off road motorbiking, Hiraya Surf hostel proved to be one of the most enjoyable places I have stayed in anywhere in the world. There was the initial shock after checking in to find I was in an 18-bed dorm, I scrambled and asked the staff if there was a private room, nope, they didn't have one available. But as in all travel adventures, it is all about the people and actually a very spacious room. The hostel staff are brilliant, and the full dorm room absolutely teeming with goodwill and a friendly welcome from the guests. Siargao is also famed for its nightlife, and there is a different happening place every night of the week advertised on the board at reception. Oh yes, dear reader, I have a feeling this is going to be a little wild!

My first plan of action was to get sorted with a motorbike for the week, and I spent the first day exploring Cloud 9, one of the most famous surf breaks in the Philippines. I'm not a surfer myself, but it was great to explore along the beach, walk along the jetty, and watch the surfers in action on the shallow and somewhat perilous break. A lot of travellers are drawn to this spot to either perfect their craft, or alternatively learn to surf with one of the many instructors. The town of General Luna is pretty cool and has a good hippy type of energy pervading it. As I mentioned, night life is the least of your worries and the go to venues each evening during my stay were absolutely heaving. On one of the first nights there was a live band at the hostel, and I was semi-coerced to go up on stage and perform a song with the band. Filipinos are the most exceptional musicians, and my fellow guests seemed stunned at the end of the song as it seemed like we had been playing together for ages. The musos in the Philippines can play just about any famous song without even breaking a sweat. It has been so long since I performed with a band, and although I was hell nervous, I loved every second of the experience performing a famous Aussie song. It also made me somewhat of an instant cult hero with the other guests. Then we all went clubbing.

The next morning I booked on a brilliant all day land tour, joining a minibus full of Filipino tourists. The locals sure love to travel in their own country! We visited a palm tree natural forest, and the beautiful Sugba lagoon after a 20-minute longtail boat ride out to the spot. It was jammed with locals, you could hardly move, but very beautiful. After lunch we visited the incredible Magpupungko rock pools and beach, and then headed out to the picturesque Maasin river, before concluding the tour at the secret beach. Wow, what an awesome day in great company. And then there was more clubbing. The next day I just went exploring on my bike, getting hopelessly lost as google maps did not seem to be having its finest hour, or maybe it was just me. I couldn't get to anywhere as planned, but finally found my bearings and was able to ride back to General Luna. And then there was clubbing.

The next day entailed a sold-out island tour with nearly 20 guests from the hostel. It was absolutely breathtaking, the outer islands we visited were stunning beyond belief. Plenty of snorkelling, you could drink as much as you want, great company, a fantastic lunch, beach volleyball in perfect weather. What a day! And then we went clubbing. So that was my stay in Siargao, what a fabulous time I had, the staff and guests and tours and nightlife were totally outa sight man! I had so much fun and was genuinely sad to leave my new family. Nevertheless it was time to push on, and I flew back to Cebu for another overnight stay before flying out to Boracay the next morning for a return visit to my favourite island in the Philippines.

This time around, however, nature had some other plans for me. A typhoon was passing nearby, before heading to Luzon causing major flooding before heading towards Taiwan. The weather during my entire stay was nothing short of horrendous, with gale force winds, bucketing rain, and gloomy grey skies for the entire duration. I couldn't really do much, just walk along the beach with a rain jacket handy and go out for meals and plug in to some live music. To top it off, I got horrendously sick during my stay and believe with hindsight and the assistance of doctor google that I may have contracted dengue fever. It was absolutely miserable, and I spent countless hours just lying in bed and trying to sleep it off. I apologised to the staff and guests for my poor form, but as is always the case in this country everyone has been so kind and considerate.

The funny thing is, I had been looking forward to visiting Boracay again so much as I have brilliant memories from all those years ago. Never mind, I will be back that's for sure, and just hope that next time I will be blessed with good weather and good health. White beach is stunning, even in grey skies. and the food options are boundless on this heaving island that is absolutely jam packed with holiday makers. There wasn't a single opportunity to go on a boat tour due to the wild seas and ferocious winds, nevertheless Boracay still holds a special place in my heart. It's kinda funny how quickly we adapt to changed circumstances, and despite the terrible weather and my health issues I was still glad to be back in this magical place.

Looking back after almost three weeks of island hopping, it's all been a bit of a blur at times. Nevertheless, one thing that stays consistent wherever you travel in the Philippines is the lovely warm and genuine welcome that comes from the locals from all walks of life. Even when walking through Cebu airport, it seems par for the course as people greet you while crossing paths. 'Hello sir' a total stranger will say 'I hope you are enjoying your visit'. Wow, I'm almost lost for words in trying to describe the generous nature of the Filipinos, they are simply brilliant hosts. When I think about it, basically all of you should be here now!


"We travel not to escape life, but for life not to escape us." Anonymous


As I continue my travels, until next time it's signing off for now

Tom

Note: Feel free to post comments on this site, or click on the subscribe button for notification of upcoming travel journals


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



26th October 2023

I'm sorry that Boracay didn't work out so well...
I hope you survived the possible case of dengue fever. I also got dengue fever at a beach...Hua Hin, Thailand...and spent the entire vacation in bed.
29th October 2023

Travel experiences
Hi Bob, I'll never know for sure, but was very unwell for a while. It even affected my vision and that was scary!
24th November 2023
Stunning views

Looks like an awesome place
That looks really awesome. I still haven't been to Philippines. Some day I sure hope to go there. Especially now after seeing your photos. /Ake
25th November 2023
Stunning views

Must visit
Thanks so much, its a magnificent destination. And super friendly.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb