Chocolate Hills+Bee Farm+Tarsier+Loboc River+Baclayon Church


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Bohol
August 3rd 2013
Published: August 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

tarsiertarsiertarsier

I was disappointed when I wasn't able to touch this palm-sized monkey... but I was thankful enough to see it in person...

"It's really fun in BOHOL!!!"



The excitement of going to the beautiful island of BOHOL consumed me that ,until now, I keep on daydreaming about it. I can't helped but be awed by the amazing chocolate hills, the palm-sized "second-smallest primate in the world"---the tarsier, the buzzing bees at the Bohol Bee farm and the Loboc cruise packed with soothing live music and sumptuous food.

I was also able to travel back in time by going to the 1595 (Spanish Colonial architecture) Baclayon church, declared as a National Historic Treasure in 1995. The church has well-preserved relics, a small museum, and a 69 feet high bell tower. I was so amazed by just looking at one of the oldest churches in the Philippines. Its very articulate and Spanish-style architecture is truly a work of art. There are tons of old churches in Bohol but Baclayon is well, the most famous among them.

How can I forget their ever-famous sticky sweet KALAMAY delicacy. Kalamay "sugar" is made of coconut, ground rice, brown sugar and other local ingredients. What makes it more exciting is it is placed inside empty coconut shells. The moment I tasted it, it became one of my favorites.

The
the chocolate hillsthe chocolate hillsthe chocolate hills

"There are at least 1,260 hills but there may be as many as 1,776 hills spread over an area of more than 50 square kilometers"
province of BOHOL is one of the most popular tourist destinations in the Philippines. This is a place where you can feel the urge to go back and explore every bit of it. I can't wait to go back! I know there's still more exciting places I failed to visit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

flying @ Bohol Chocolate hillsflying @ Bohol Chocolate hills
flying @ Bohol Chocolate hills

This jump shot picture with friends was taken in Chocolate Hills...
kalamaykalamay
kalamay

you haven't been in Bohol if you can't taste this sweet-sticky-rice-sugar delicacy! num num num
the largest door i have ever seenthe largest door i have ever seen
the largest door i have ever seen

Baclayon Church's door is so huge!!!! I can't imagine pushing and pulling the door alone!!!!
seashells ceilingsseashells ceilings
seashells ceilings

we had our breakfast @ this restaurant but I can't remember the name :( the ceiling is amazing!
seashells ceilings interiorseashells ceilings interior
seashells ceilings interior

I really am saddened by not remembering the restaurant's name :(
@ Bohol BEE FARM@ Bohol BEE FARM
@ Bohol BEE FARM

not only a bee farm, but also an art farm---how creative!
@ Bohol BEE FARM@ Bohol BEE FARM
@ Bohol BEE FARM

not only a bee farm, but an also an art farm...
a yacht HOUSE?a yacht HOUSE?
a yacht HOUSE?

yes!this is a house! I bet it is owned by a sailor- or anyone who loves the sea--and boat...Luckily, it's located near the road and everyone can see this unique house...
HINAGDANAN CAVEHINAGDANAN CAVE
HINAGDANAN CAVE

this cave is also an attraction in the place
white sand.....seawhite sand.....sea
white sand.....sea

Before leaving Bohol, swimming and tanning in numerous white sand beaches is a great remembrance of your visit.....hooh!!! I can't wait to go back!!


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb