The love of the game or child labor?


Advertisement
Pakistan's flag
Asia » Pakistan » Peshawar
April 17th 2014
Published: April 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

My favorite possession that I own are soccer balls, and the soccer balls that I own are mainly form Nike. However, when I researched how and where the Nike soccer balls were being made I found out that Nike supports child Labor in Pakistan in which they are children that can be as young as 5 years old doing this type of work that an adult should be doing. After this I found out that it stated that a child made 60 cents per every ball they stitched, and Nike only provided these children with this amount of money because since Pakistan only makes about $5 a day and about $1900 a year Nike thought they could exploit these children in order to work for them for minimum wage. However, this was all kept a truth by Nike until Life magazine released the story of a 12 year old boy named Tariq that was working for Nike for 60 cents per every soccer ball he stitched which then the media started showing, and Nike is still probably doing this child labor, but are hiding from the media. When I found out about the child labor made me really surprised because how a company like Nike put children to work with a low wage which surprises me by how these products that I am using are made by force child labor. Learning about how the soccer balls are made by forced child labor does change my perspective, but honestly the soccer balls are still going to be in the game so my perspective when playing the game will probably change when playing with the Nike soccer ball.

Credit to websites:

http://hifipanda.com/wallpaper-273374.html

http://business.nmsu.edu/~dboje/nike/pakistan.html

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb