This is why I travel


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
July 6th 2009
Published: October 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I get asked this a lot. I came up with this answer after my first day in Nepal.

Far below my 'Air China' wings
Sand turns to snow
Samuri swords to daggers

Defeated by reality's version of 'Risk'
My journey has become all too easy
All too unadventerous

Luxary travel apparently respects your personal space
So there's no neighbour
To squish up to
To share my drunken excitement
As my dreams become reality
The Himalayas
The Himalayas
The Himalayas

Touching down in the valley of the Himalayas
I'm disorientated, lost
I want to say Xie Xie
But the only response is blank faces
Again I'm an outsider peering in
To an exoctic land that I do not understand

My first taste of sanscript and saris
of dahl and momos
of Shivas and Shianards
of monsoon rains that turn roads to rivers
washing all the shit down to the next junction
the sweat down to the pools of my shoes
Shoes that have seen the rains of Africa
that have seen desert storms of Australia
that have felt rainforest floods that have stranded me
and white water rapids that have swallowed me
Shoes that surely wont last another downpour

And this is why I travel
I love the complete ordered chaos
The thrill of the ride
The adventure is back on!

Advertisement



26th February 2011

Nice!
Really liked this: "Shoes that have seen the rains of Africa that have seen desert storms of Australia that have felt rainforest floods that have stranded me and white water rapids that have swallowed me"

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb