Images of China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
June 25th 2009
Published: June 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Travelling for 6 months without a camera was strangley refreshing. Unfortunately I took nothing from that experience. In fact it seems I came back with a vengence...... enjoy.

Although I was in China for 4 months, 3 of those living, working and climbing in Yangshuo, Guangxi Province, these photos were all pretty much taken in the final 2 weeks when Gemma came out to visit me. Now before you start hasseling me as to why I didn't just buy a camera earlier, um, laziness I guess was the key factor. I was traveling. The last thing I wanted to do was go shopping for technological goods in a shopping mall. I didn't have a clue about what sort of camera I wanted, how much would be a good price, blah blah blah. So I decided that instead of wasting my money I would wait, do some research, talk to people that stuff about cameras, and maybe invest in something really fancy. I did spend the next 6 months partaking in lots of photography based conversations, and trying out anyone's camera who would let me, including those that closer resemble that of a telesscope than a camera. But as usual, I got scared about investing money in something that I'd probably be rubbish at, and would therefore have wasted my money. I instead went with the usual Hannah tactic of forget about it. Untill one impulsive day 6 months later when I decided that actually it would be nice to have a few pictures of all these fricking incredible places, and enough is enough. Ok, so it may have helped that I just got paid by ChinaClimb and was visiting an electronics market in Guangzhou (THE place to buy electronic goods). Jesus, why didn't I just buy one sooner??

So anyway, here is what you can do with a basic point and shoot. Should I have gone with a telescope?


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Authentic Chinese...Authentic Chinese...
Authentic Chinese...

.... afraid it's a movie set
Tiger Leaping GorgeTiger Leaping Gorge
Tiger Leaping Gorge

We hiked the path you can see on the left
Camping/working in Zi YuanCamping/working in Zi Yuan
Camping/working in Zi Yuan

Picture taken by Abond


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb