Day 41 - Free day in Pokhara


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
August 29th 2015
Published: August 29th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 41 - Pokhara - free day

Today's blog may seem uneventful, apart from the paragliding for Anna and Bernie, but trust me, the free day was very welcome by all! It's something you are really ready for due to the constant early mornings and long travel spells!

We had an early start, 3.45am. We were hoping for a sunrise view from a village up in the mountains. I got up, met with Anu, it was cancelled due to the overcast sky. No sunrise today! But credit to everyone, we all got up on good time! I have to say, I wasn't sorry to go back to bed as I had a rough night.... Very dizzy! It seems to be when I change height! Getting up from a chair, laying down on the bed, once I get there, it seems to clear.

Today is paragliding day! Not for me, my heads far too wobbly to consider it! I'm still being cautious!

Anna and Bernie are going for it. Go girls!

Lisa and I set off for breakfast. We got seated with a good view of the mountain. We ate....and waited ....

At last, here they come. Is it a bird? Is it a plane? Noooo... It's Anna and Bernie! They circled the top of the mountain like Eagles, swooping and gliding, looking for prey. It seemed like they were up there a long time, raising up high, then falling back down, then raising up again. It was amazing to watch, so I think unbelievable to do!

When we had seen that they had both landed, we finished our breakfast. I must say that after eating breakfast if an omelette and bread, I did feel a bit better! Not sure if this wobbly feeling is caused by the head injury, the heat, the sun, not enough water, not enough food! It's probably a bit of everything!

Note to self, and all; drink more water! I have managed a litre this morning, am going to try for the second litre now!

Lisa and I left a message for Anna, Bernie and Anu, so they can meet us for lunch if they want to. We set off for a walk around, and of course, a bit of shopping!

It's difficult when shopping, there is so much stuff I love, but don't think others would feel the same about it. I feel that when I buy stuff on my travels, I consolidating my memories into a physical form, but people at home would not have the same feelings towards things that I like. That's ok if it's in my home, not so sure that they would want it in theirs!

I made a couple of small purchases, then.... Oh happy days... I got a Nepalese SIM and Internet package! It's amazing, and stupid, how much relief I feel! Doing the blog is so frustrating when the wifi is poor.

All utilities are very intermittent here in Nepal. You do get used to it, the cold water, the electricity going off, so that includes no air con, fan or ability to charge the phone, iPod or iPad! But just because you get used to it, that doesn't stop the frustration!

By chance, Lisa and I meet with Anna. No one has actually been back to the hotel, so no one actually got the message we left! Anna tells us that she has been shopping, and Bernie has gone for a walk along the lakeside. Anu picked them up from the paragliding, so they went for a cold drink together, before parting ways.

Anna went back to the hotel to get sorted, whilst Lisa and I go for lunch. She will catch up with us for a walk around the market area after lunch. After 20 minutes, Anna and Anu joined us at The Boomerang Restaurant. Anu is getting his lunch, 'take away', as he is going to watch the football, Anna and I are getting Henna in our, other arm, Llsa is continuing the necklace and bracelet hunt.

Anna and I get our second henna done. It's very good! A lot more intricate than the left arm, but that's fair comment because the first was done by one of the young village girls, whereas this time it was done at a salon.

Anna went to meet Anu to watch the football, Nepal v India, I won't say who won, as that would upset Anu!.... But it wasn't India! You could hear the cheering from all directions around the streets.

I went to buy a couple of items that I have been looking at. I looked, tried it, looked again, then finally went back and bought my items.... So happy with them! I got natural hemp baggy pants with a matching long coat. I bumped into Lisa again, so we went off looking for a moon stone bracelet. This has been a two day hunt! The one she finally bought is lovely.

We all arrived back at the hotel one by one.., and the bloody electricity is still off, or maybe off again, who knows! This means that it is hotter inside the room than it is outside the room! I was chatting to Lisa on the balcony, we both agreed that the only thing we can do to cool down is to take a cold shower!

Good idea, I did cool down for about ten minutes, then I was sweating again! I have sweat so much today that my Jenna did not dry! Nightmare!

Anna came back with a heap of shopping! She the set to, trying to squash it all into her, already full to bursting, backpack. She did manage to get all of her shopping on, and there is a lot! It was funny to watch her!

We meet with Anu at 7.30 for out evening meal. We are meeting with the Yolo group again for an evening out. We are eating, then going to Busy Bees live music bar. Sadly, I'm not going to allow myself to drink, I have improved over today, I felt quite ill last night, so I daren't drink, and cause myself unnecessary illness!

We arrive at Busy Bees for drinks. It's a live band pub. It's huge inside! Only two of the other group made it, and the two CEOs, Maan and Sid. Anu's little face lights up with pure happiness when he sees his friend, Maan... Lol

Maan is with the Yolo group that are constantly a day or two behind us, so we have crossed over about three times now.

It's nice to see Anu getting all school boyish with his friends ... Lol it's a good way for him to take time out from the hassle of being a CEO 24/7. He has earned this time!

As the drinks go down, Anna rises... She's found her happy level! Lol ...It isn't long before she is learning how to swear in Indian! I'm doing ok with my bottle of water! It feels not so good to not be drinking alongside everyone else, but I'm sure I'll benefit tomorrow! We are leaving at 4.30 for a second attempt at the sunrise.

We are still at Busy Bees, a good night is being had by all! but I am logging off to finish the night!

OMG..... The rains came down, inside the pub! Amazing!



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



29th August 2015

Hi
Hi Pleased you got your sim! Hope you get your sunrise x

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb