getting nearer


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
March 21st 2013
Published: March 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

. . . . and as The Great Date neared the pace of email exchanges increased. I came to realise another difference because of the nature of the group: unlike previous trips with 'grizzled Himalayan veterans', i.e. folk who mainly had been there before, and consequently knew the outline of what was to happen, our collection of 'Himalayan Virgins' wanted more information. Previously when first-time trekkers were part of the party they weren't in the majority: this time, with only myself and Tom having visited before (and Tom, being three hundred miles away, not really involved with our newcomers), I found that each 'Update' I sent out produced another torrent of questions. I didn't mind this in the least ! Several years of answering posts on Trip Advisor was a good background, and the need to respond kept the upcoming trip in the forefront of my mind, and heightened my anticipation. As months gave way to weeks, and then to days I benefitted from a vicarious newness as each time I bumped into Alan, Linda or Merrilyn around town, or received emails from Helen, the reality of the approaching trip became greater. Some of the queries I passed on to Sanam, who patiently replied to all.

Fitful attempts at getting fitter, struggling up our local hills, again introduced an awareness of the reality. I found myself quailing at the thought that the hundred metre ascent behind our house was only a fraction of the climb up from Khare that would start our trek, or the ascent from the Modi Khola to Ghandruk. I consoled myself with the tought that at least the horizontal distances were not great, and believed that, although going uphill hurts, I'd be o.k.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb