Another day in the hospital


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
November 10th 2011
Published: November 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I just thought I would blog a few interesting and new things I have experienced so far...

I now know the four stages of neuroleptis sarcomatis, I havn't even heard of it and its relevance in Australia is close to zero. Nor have I heard of a "cold abscess" which apparently is characteristic of TB lymphadenopathy.

I love the smell of my lab coat. Every toilet I have entered here I shove my face into the opposite shoulder of my lab coat to avoid the sickly sweet stench of ammonia and other indescribable smells.

The hospital doubles as a makeshift shanty town in the corridors where families camp until their love ones get better.

A dead body weighs a lot more than I thought when I had to help carry one out the ED shrouded in white bed sheets. He was lying on the bed with the curtains open and some blood on the floor.

Everything here is generally a 50/50 chance. By this I mean that things may/may not work and people may/may not be on time. Regardless of how much research and effort can be put into these daily situations the odds do not change and this really shouldn't matter anyway; just go with the flow!

Nepalese Doctors live very different lives to Australian ones, this is obvious.

Protocols in medicine are not worldwide. For example a man (whose body I helped to transfer) was brought into ED unconscious and apperently in VT was not defibrillated because they "sometimes" do it. Morphine is also not used uniformly for pain relief.

I start my rotation in radio-therapy on Sunday so that should be interesting as I have already seen so many massive tumours during my radio-diagnosis rotation.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0878s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb