Pokhara - The holy city of Nepal


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
September 6th 2008
Published: August 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

My bus arrived in Pokhara around 4am in the afternoon. There were so many people gathered outside the bus as soon as the bus came to still. As soon as my backpack was dropped from the roof to the ground, a guy in an old car took it away from the others. Then there was a bit of shouting and grabbing each other for my backpack. My backpack was tossed up in the air and then fell near me. I took a firm hold of it and almost ran back into a busy market to escape the repetition of the late skirmish with these touts at the bus station.

While I was sipping a cup of tea, a young boy on a motorbike approached me with a friendly smile. He offered me his help to take me to a guest house near the lake. I had to thoroughly read my guide book before accepting his offer. To be honest, I was already a bit shaken after the encounter with all those touts at the bus station. As the darkness falls slowly, I began to feel exhausted. I decided to jump back on to the motorbike and we drove pass those touts who were still waving and shouting at us.

The guest house was a family run place which is located a couple of meters away from the Lake Phewa Tal. At the time of my arrival, there wasn't anyone staying, so I was lucky to be able to choose the best room in the whole building. I dropped my backpack in the room and went out in search for food and water.

The street lights were on. I went to a small little food stall to get some food. There was a guy who sounds to me he's from one of the Caribbean Islands. He was completely drunk and kept talking about the important of the religious in this world. I paid less attention to his speech as it seems to be an endless speech.

I met a couple nice people around the lake side and one of them was a lady who ran a shop along the lake. She was kind to offer me a jumper for a reduced price which I didn't have it. She talked about the low tourist season and how it affects her business and her family.

There was another guy at so called barber shop who thought that I would not enjoy my travel without a companion. He kindly offered his help to find someone for me but I instantly refused. Having noticed that I have no interests in that sort of topics, he asked me about my likelihood of Nepalese massage. I decided to cut the conversation short and went back to the same food stall where Bob Marley look alike was still preaching about the important of religious existence but this time he has lost all his audience.

Having drunk my last cup of tea of the day, I walked back to the guest house. It was still empty.

Within the short period, I managed to trek along the off-the-beaten-path to the top of the Peace Pagoda. I went to see Davis falls, the old tow, Tibetan Monastery, the new town and the Tibetan settlement.



Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb