Rainy day blues


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
March 2nd 2007
Published: March 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I arrived into Pokhara after a decent 8 hour bus ride. After my failed attempt at waking up for the 7 a.m. bus the previous morning, I was proud that I not only woke up, but got there 30 minutes early and had a nice breakfast! 😊 hahaa.. I'm such a lazy ass. On the bus, I met an Australian, Egor, and several Israelis. Egor and I ended up becoming roommates at Nanohano Guesthouse (Rs200/$3 for a clean double). It's not in the main touristy area, but it's a short bike ride, or a nice stroll, away. Sebastian had recommended it, and it lived up to its expectations. It was funny because I ended up meeting four other travelers who had come to the guesthouse based on his recommendations. He's like its ambassador!

I was in Pokhara for only 5 days, and it was terrible! Oh sigh... the rain, the rain, the RAIN! It completely dampened my plans because it created so many restrictions! 😞 But since I'll be back for Geeta's wedding, I didn't mind it as much. Being that Pokhara is famous for its outdoor acivities and stunning views of the Himalayas, the rain and clouds pretty much
Row boatsRow boatsRow boats

Phewa Tal
lazed up my days there. However, there was one good day, which was when I managed to go to the World Peace Pagoda of Pokhara. There are over 80 of these symbolic peace pagodas in the world (Europe, U.S. and Asia) and it was first created to help unite the people of the world. It started from a Japanese Buddhist monk, Nichidatsu Fujii, who devoted his life to promoting nonviolence after meeting Gandhi, and most of the pagodas were designed under his guidance, with the first being built in memory of the devastation from the Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombings. The particular Peace Pagoda I saw is on a hill next to the Phewa Tal, the populous lake area in Pokhara. It was a nice and sunny day, and the "trek" up the hill was a bonus after my Kathmandu food fest.

Other than that, I spend my time biking through the town, regardless of the sprinkle, drizzle or rain, because it was either that or shooting pool (and losing) all day with Leon at Maya's Cafe.

I met these two American girls while having dinner with Leon and Felix. At last! Americans! Spotting one so far during my travels has proved to be quite a rarity. There are so many stereotypes, assumptions and generalizations about Americans that I've been asked and one of them is why Americans don't leave America...and if they do, they only go to Europe. I've even heard from two different people that only 5% of Americans have passports, but I"m not sure of it's validity. I've heard so much "Why are Americans so ________?" and "How do Americans feel about Bush?" or "Why do Americans know nothing about the world?" It gets so tiring to explain that not ALL of us are like that... only the ones from the midwest. Hahaa.. :D

Anyways... the two girls are Yale graduates doing research fellowships in Dehli and hopefully we'll meet again in India. The following morning at 5:30 a.m., the girls, Egor and I went to see the sunrise from Sarangkot... and unlucky for us, the clouds covered almost all of the view! Again, my only consolation was that I'll be back for Geeta's wedding. Thank goodness for that!

Well, after seeing the clouds, having rain fall (again) and hearing that it will rain the following day, I canceled my paragliding adventure and decided to head out for Varanasi, India for Holi (Color) Festival. This Israeli guy on the bus told me repeatedly that I'm (f---ing) insane to go b/c of all the sexual harassment rampant, especially on a day like Holi, where all the Indian men get high, drunk and abuse every other substance found in India. I was pretty freaked out from hearing that, but I guess we'll just have to test the waters and see about that!




Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

A view of Pokhara beyond the hillsA view of Pokhara beyond the hills
A view of Pokhara beyond the hills

On my way up to the Peace Pagoda
Don't mind me... just taking a stroll...Don't mind me... just taking a stroll...
Don't mind me... just taking a stroll...

at Lakeside (main tourist area with GREAT restaurants)
ZzzZzzzz...ZzzZzzzz...
ZzzZzzzz...

Phewa Tal
Sunrise view from SarangkotSunrise view from Sarangkot
Sunrise view from Sarangkot

The sun peeking out from the clouds
HimalayasHimalayas
Himalayas

Sarangkot
Leon (the guru)... :)Leon (the guru)... :)
Leon (the guru)... :)

Hanonano Guesthouse


16th March 2007

Keep me lifted
From DC I salute you Grace. You are bold and beautiful and hillarious...keep eating and lazing and any other holy hindu animal activity...makes you feel connected in a strange place. That lake in Pokhara had me swimming in it last year, you have brought numerous reminders to me. Enjoy India, be safe, be free!
16th March 2007

i love how your retainer case is in the picture. hahaha, be careful at that festival! i know i always say becareful like an ahjumah, but all those people aren't warning you for no reason, u know....
16th March 2007

F*CKING BUSH!!! AHHHHhhhh.. just writing that pisses me off, thinking about him pisses me off, him being the president pisses me off even MORE!! STEAM IS RUNNING OUT OF MY EARS!!
18th March 2007

WOW
Your trip looks absolutly amazing. Your doing exactly what ive planned for after I finish in Seoul. Keep on truckin!

Tot: 0.68s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 25; qc: 118; dbt: 0.4769s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb