SPECIAL EDITION: Up, up and away!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
October 26th 2011
Published: October 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

And so THIS was the day I was waiting for - a major item on my 'bucket list' - a view of Mount Everest.......

We were up at 5:30 a.m., in the lobby by 6 a.m. and off to the airport to catch our small planes for a flight around Mount Everest. The weather was superb - sunny, clear, and a perfectly smooth flight!!!!! We had 4 planes booked: 2 for 16 people and 2 other smaller planes.

The pilots were amazing and the stewardess was more than generous with her assistance, information and hospitality. We all had an incredible view of the mountain ranges as we were invited, one by one into the cockpit (well, almost into the cockpit) with the pilots. We had a map (see photo) of the mountain ranges - and then, we we got near Mount Everest - the sun was glistening off the mountain top - magical - totally and absolutely magical!

The flight lasted an hour and everyone - absolutely everyone, based on a scale of 1-10 felt the trip was a '25'!!!!! Can't beat that! (Thank you, Ben, for including this as a phenomenal opportunity!).

Not a lot more to write about this - the pictures speak for themselves. Such a really great way to start an amazing day!!!!

Enjoy - because now I have the challenging task of selecting some photos from the more than 200 I took from the rest of our incredible day!!!!

Bye for now! (Good night, Mom - I love you!)

Happy Pat


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



26th October 2011
Photo 33

Stunning!
Wow, thank you Pat for all of the photos. Sitting down at my computer on a grey, overcast day, it took my spirit right up to the mountains and blue sky with you all. Jim & Nancy, I'm so excited to see that you two took this flight. Now that you've been to the mountain and back, you'll have to come over for dinner when you're back in Toronto. I want to hear so much more about your experience of this world wide adventure! I couldn't be more inspired! Keep it coming, Pat!
26th October 2011

The top of the world!!!
Hey Pat, I am excited just to look at your pictures! One of these days, I will make it too!!! Thanks for sharing, I love to follow you up in the virtual world!
26th October 2011

Wow...
that is so awesome!! How would you like to be out there climbing that baby?? Hard to believe people actually do it.
26th October 2011

everest
Magnificence.
26th October 2011
the mountain range we flew over

Hello Brenda, Pat, and Robert , I am so happy to have your blog to look forward to...It usually arrives mid to late-morning and I must stop what I am doing to catch up with you all....As I follow you around so many memories are pushed to the front of my thoughts....wonderful memories....The pictures of Everest are fantastic....have a few of my own from earlier trips with you but from a much greater distance!!!! You all look well and happy and hope you are enjoying your trip...how could you not ? Thank you again for the most wonderful memories of the destinations you have been so far that I have seen with you....Happy Travels or as they say here in Quebec....Bon Voyage!!
26th October 2011
me and the stewardess

Did you take your Gravol before this flight Dad?
Wow - just amazing!! The word "awesome" can definitely be used correctly to describe the views you must have seen on this flight....the pictures are incredible...the panoramic view must have been simply breathtaking for all of you (whether you were feeling queasy or not!! :-) ) So glad you booked this for ourselves Mom and Dad. xo Lynne
26th October 2011
me and the stewardess

Did you take your Gravol before this flight Dad?
Wow - just amazing!! The word "awesome" can definitely be used correctly to describe the views you must have seen on this flight....the pictures are incredible...the panoramic view must have been simply breathtaking for all of you (whether you were feeling queasy or not!! :-) ) So glad you booked this for ourselves Mom and Dad. xo Lynne
26th October 2011

Mount Everest
Pat, I swear my skin still has goosebumps at your pictures of Mount Everest and can certainly understand your enthusiasm for such a sight. Two things: I am sensing that Ben is not with you on this trip. Number two: I am slowing figuring out you are not Green Team this year, seeing a lot of red wherever you are... Keep on enjoying - your Blog is extraordinary! We can see there seems to be a lot younger crowd than when we went which I think is interesting. It truly is a Trip of a Lifetime and so now you need at least three Lifetimes to enjoy the memories! Lots of love and hugs!
26th October 2011
Photo 33

WHAT AN EXPERIENCE
Amazing pictures and certainly a great adventure. tell my friends the Jamiesons, I am following them everyday and wish I were there too......Good job Pat
27th October 2011

Incredible pictures!
Next challenge: taking pictures from the actual top of the mountain?
28th October 2011

Wonder - full!
Pat- your trip is absolutely amazing! Up on a Friday a.m. and looking at Facebook and WHAT? Mount EVEREST???? This trip is incredible. I hope that, when you get home, you have an evening gathering somewhere and go through your trip - I would come out of my cocoon to hear THAT talk...! Super trip Pat!
28th October 2011

WOW! Breathtaking
Pat, these pictures are gorgeous and breathtaking. I'm thinking of you as you continue your journey. Sending lots of love for safe travels and a wonderful trip.Much love, Jodi
29th October 2011
the mountain range we flew over

Greetings
Bob and Jackie J., looks like you are having a fabulous time. Look forward to seeing more photos of the trip and hear about it upon your return.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb