A couple of final Nepal updates


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
November 18th 2009
Published: November 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Having met up with Jan and Dan..the tandem cyclists....and I was sure that was the end of my wonderful coincidencental meetings. But on my last night in Kathmandu I went to a Thai restaurant...Yin and Yang....which was great!...but as I sat there Ian and Kristen from England who I had met several days earlier just before crossing the Pass...at the truly rustic/disgusting?..Jimi Lodge....walked in!

Great fun as we got caught up and traded stories.

I was reading a great book while doing the Annapurna Circuit....called "Annapurna" by Maurice Herzog. It was written in 1952 after he led the first successful summiting of an 8000m peak in the world...Annapurna. It is a great story of how they tried to decide between trying to climb Dhauagiri or Annapurna and the one thing that rang true with me was how hard it was to actually get a good view of Annapurna I. While the Annapurna Circuit is around Annapurna and it's 3 other mountains plus Annapurna South..the highest and proper Annapurna is Annapurna I and I probably saw it for about an hour in the 16 days!....so I could empathize with the expedition.

Quite apart from being so topical for me, it was an amazinglywell written book and the trials and tribulations the expedition had were actually more focused on after reaching the summit than before. If you're looking for a great real life adventure ....this book is highly recommended!

OK...so end of Nepal stuff!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb