Bangkok Stopover


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
November 18th 2009
Published: November 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi All
I'm writing from the wonderful Cinnamon Hotel in Hanoi, Vietnam where there are 2 computers in the lobby of my little but great 6 room hotel!

But this entry is about Bangkok so I'll backtrack.

I managed to leave Kathmandu in between the potential general strikes as you will recall after 16 days of trekking. Well despite my one night treat in Pokhara that didn't seem to be enough luxury for me. I had already booked Business Class on Thai Airways to and from Kathmandu to Bangkok return so I could change my flight with no problems and leave KTM about a week before I had initially planned. The flight is sadly only about 3 1/2 hours but it was still wonderful to be able to relax and enjoy the pleasures and food of business class. I actually sat beside a wonderful German woman who had just been trekking in Bhutan which is high on my "bucket list" and moved even higher after talking to her!

It absolutely amazes me that there are so many people traveling between KTM and Bangkok that Thai uses 747-400....those old ones with the upstairs in Business Class if you recall.

Having been to Bangkok on my way to KTM I was familiar with the taxis/prices etc in from the airport so there were no issues and it was even easier as I already had some Thai bhat. I had heard that Thai hotels were looking for business and there are a number of online services that I use to check out prices including Tripadvisor.com and kayak.com as well as booking.com and hotels.com. Well one of them threw up the Metropolitan Hotel which looked so cool and the price was right at about $100/night that I treated myself! Well often these disapppoint...but not this one!...WOW

Here's the link

http://www.metropolitan.bangkok.como.bz/

Yes..a LONG way from those teahouses in Nepal!...:-))

Bangkok is a full fledged first world city now with the pollution and traffic jams that accompany that designation sadly. It is a go go city with so much shopping and activity as well as some great touristy things to see it's hard to know where to start. Having done the touristy things many years ago, I decided to do my usual walk around the city soaking up the sites and asking locals where I should go. Well normally it's a good idea but with 34/35 degree weather and lots of humidity, I quickly found I was darting into anything air conditioned to recover before the next foray into the sweat box. Starbucks managed to pull me in a couple of times I'm embarrassed to say as did the Central World shopping plaza which is very new and 7 stories of the most amazing shops....just to give you an example...this is in Bangkok remember...there is a stand alone Thule Sweden store....the ones that have the roof top carriers for bikes/skiis etc. I also bought another 4 GB memory card for my camera as I seem to be going through pictures at a rapid rate...same price as in Canada. And of course all the usual world renown names you would know.

And by wonderful juxtaposition is one of the many markets ....outdoor and covered...where you can buy all those world renown brand names again....only this time they are all fakes!.....well....as you know I am just a little bit on the cheap side!....:-)...so I picked up some wonderful tees and Nautica polo shirts (or so the labels said!)...although somehow my recollection is that they cost more than $3-4 in Canada so maybe they weren't completely the real thing!...haha

I was a bit concerned about taking their overstreet subway equivalent but quickly realized if I wanted to get anywhere in reasonable time there was absolutely NO point in getting in a taxi and sitting in a/c comfort for hours on end as they fought the traffic for maybe 1 km!...it really is that bad at times!

But my main reason for being in Bangkok was to get a visa to Vietnam. One needs a visa and according to various books and websites in could take any time from 1 to 4 days. So I appeared at their Embassy at 8:30 am and was told for a $100 I could have the visa by 3 pm....and they delivered!

So later than afternoon I hopped back on the internet to book my flight to Hanoi....1:45 flight....Air France...$130.....again a 747-400...although this one had come originally from Paris....

As I traveled around Bangkok I was shocked by the amount of Christmas advertising..yes really!..including trees out front of stores in 95 degree heat...I sure wasn't in the mood for shopping...but I guess anything to increase sales they'd try!

I finished my Bangkok trip with breakfast at the Glow Restaurant in the Metropolitan Hotel....amazing coffee....waffles with lemon butter...pineapple and banana and spices...best I've ever had!...except no maply syrup!

I've got a day or two in Bangkok at the end of my trip so I'll recheck out the touristy sights then.










Advertisement



18th November 2009

love the Blog...
Hi Faris! - Love reading of your wanderings - and of the many interesting people you are meeting. Look forward to your return - and more anecdotes. V pleased to see no recent mention of knees, shoulders etc! All well chez Anderson. Just back from 1 week in England and saw Jocelyn - in v good form. a mini trip by your standards ... but I'm not sure the cards have a long trip on the horizon for us - so we'll enjoy your travels vicariously! xo, Pats
20th November 2009

Bangkok
Bangkok sounds amazing.... Especially the Metropolitan Hotel lol!
20th November 2009

Did you stay in a Terrace Room with outdoor shower?

Tot: 0.451s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb