Katmandu, Nepal


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
September 5th 2008
Published: September 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

To sit patiently with a yearning that has not yet been fulfilled, and to trust that, that fulfillment will come, is quite possibly one of the most powerful "magic skills" that human beings are capable of. It has been noted by almost every ancient wisdom tradition.

Elizabeth Gilbert .... Eat, Pray, Love

My time will come. I have to believe that.

Katmandu is rich in religions, temples, scenic beauty and warm smiling people. Not as hectic (or loud) as India, Indian dress and Hinduism is still very prevalent here. The mixture of traditional Indian sari and western forms of dress allows me to fit in a bit easier. Yesterday was a Hindi celebration where women dressed in saris, all shades of red, celebrated the health & happiness of their husbands. Because of the celebrations, I decided it best to visit my first Buddhist Temple on this day. Swayamnbhunath (say that fast three times) is high up on tip of a hill surrounded by the mountains. Aptly called “Monkey Temple”, it also house many pigeons, dogs and monks. The monks are silent, the pigeons are dirty and the dogs mangey. The temple is tranquil. Prayer flags hangs everywhere and I spent two hours wondering the grounds, entering smaller temples honoring different gods, watching small monks in training playing games and taking pictures. Postcards were being sold as well as statues, prayer flags and small green bird that look like parakeets. I wasn’t sure if they were supposed to be pets, sacrificed (I know ...not buddhist like) or set free. The gentleman spoke no english. He did allow me to take pictures. I found out later (thanks Dad) they were to bought and set free with the promise of a wish granted. Lost my chance. You bet I will buy the next bird I see.

The afternoon was spent wondering the monument zone of Durbar Square. Located in the heart of the ancient city, temples and shrines built from the 12th to the 18th century fan out in the passage ways that surround. Of course, I had a driver who was very sweet and spoke very little English. He grew up in a town 600 km from Katmandu. He waited patiently at every stop and greeted me with a huge grin upon my return. Cost ... about $20US. I returned to the hotel, did some washing up ,checked my emails, called my parents and the power went out. It is not uncommon for the power to shut down both here and India. It has happen numerous times and flashlight are provided in every room. What I didn’t realize was that we had a generator and were privileged. I looked out the window to find total darkness except for the candles light coming from the houses around me.

Tomorrow, more site seeing and then Off to Mt. Everest.

It is sometimes the small things in life that you come to enjoy. .... A friendly smile, cozy beds, email from friends. Today, I found peanut butter!!!!! It is all about gratitude.

Headed off to bed. 5am start to fly over Mt. Everest. Pictures are sure to follow.

Much love,

Jess



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb