Kathmandu & Everest


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Everest Base Camp
September 12th 2008
Published: September 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Buddha AirBuddha AirBuddha Air

Nothing can go wrong with a name like that????
OK, I am so sorry for slow entries. I have been going hard for two three weeks and finally shut down. I am not going to have a lot to say. It was spiritual, made me cry and had a strong emotional effect on me.

Everest (Sagarmatha or "Goddess in the sky" in Nepalese) was everything and more. It stands at 29,029 ft. Telluride, CO is at almost 9,000 ft. I thought that was high..... Not even close.

I arrived at the local airport at 5:30 to get through security. Not knowing what to expect, and not a lot of english spoken, I was pointed through security and put into a large room holding room. I had some yummy chai tea as I waited. Tyler and I boarded Buddha Air at 6:00 am. I know you are thinking I am crazy ... but it was the only way his short legs would ever see the highest peak. Kathmandu valley sits surrounded by the Himalayan mountains at 4,423 ft. It takes two weeks to to trek to base camp which sits at 17,500 ft. Nepal has 8 of the top 10 highest peaks. We saw half of them on this
Up since 4:30Up since 4:30Up since 4:30

Could be the final pic. Not looking my best at 6
flight.

The pictures just don't do it justice. To see the sun coming up, drowning the mountains with pure sunshine, captured the mountains in all their elegance. It was stupendous.

As always, thanks for the words of encouragement. I miss you all.

Much love.






Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Overcast Take offOvercast Take off
Overcast Take off

Money back if you don't see Everest
Just the beginningJust the beginning
Just the beginning

These peaks start at 23,724 ft. The first of 20 peaks I would see.


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb