Kathmandu/Nepal


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
July 6th 2008
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It was time for a new country and we took a short flight to Kathmandu Nepal. We stayed 8 nights at the Kathmandu Guest House ideally located right in the middle of Thamel. Thamel is the main tourist area with lots of great restaurants, bars and shops. Our room was centered around a garden area and my favorite buddha statue.

Daddy said I was too young to climb Mt Everest, the highest mountain in the world, so instead we took a 1 hour mountain flight to see it. It was awesome seeing the himalayans with snow and then the final peak we saw was Everest. What a sight!

My favorite thing about Nepal was Buddha's eyes. I got so excited when I would see them and daddy buy t-shirts for us with the eyes. My favorite place was Bodhnath, where there is the biggest stupa in the world and of course, the 4 pairs of buddha's eyes on the top. We would circle the stupa with the locals and I loved spinning the prayer wheels. We liked this place so much we came here on another day as well.

Another favorite place of mine was Durbar square. There
Mt Everest!!!Mt Everest!!!Mt Everest!!!

Didn't climb it, but it was the next best thing
was a big area with a lot of pigeons and cool buildings to climb. We also took daytrips to Patan and Bhaktapur. Bhaktapur was like a midieval town and I had a lot of fun with all the statues and temples.

There was even a wine festival at one of the restaurants in Kathmandu, which made daddy really happy. We ate lots of good food there and met some cool people including a very nice couple from Mexico.

We definitely could have spent more time in Nepal, but it was time to go back to India and see more of Rajasthan.




Additional photos below
Photos: 100, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Prayer WheelsPrayer Wheels
Prayer Wheels

Golden Temple, Patan
Kathmandu Guest HouseKathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House

We really liked this hotel
Prayer WheelsPrayer Wheels
Prayer Wheels

Golden Temple, Patan
My favorite BuddhaMy favorite Buddha
My favorite Buddha

right outside our hotel room door
BabysittersBabysitters
Babysitters

These guys took care of me while daddy hit the clubs at night
Toothache GodToothache God
Toothache God

Coins nailed to wood are offerings
New FriendNew Friend
New Friend

Durbar Square
VeneziaVenezia
Venezia

Plus a Cow
Durbar SquareDurbar Square
Durbar Square

Monkey Temple in the distance
My favorite WaiterMy favorite Waiter
My favorite Waiter

Restaurant/Hotel On Durbar square near Freak St
Dinner with MovieDinner with Movie
Dinner with Movie

This wont happen when I get back to the USA
Gifts to BuddhaGifts to Buddha
Gifts to Buddha

I decided to give Buddha some flowers and my bag.


6th August 2008

lord r u cute
my goodness, u r so cute n cheerful, felt good to u see u have fun in nepal. and thanks for having the patience to upload so many pics, i love them!!
14th January 2009

So Inspiring!
I love this site. I'm planning on taking my two girls to Nepal later this year and have had a few negative comments. This is certainly uplifting and inspiring and she looks like such a happy little girl! Well done.

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb