Jaipur/India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
July 15th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me at the Jantar MantarMe at the Jantar MantarMe at the Jantar Mantar

with the huge sun dial (Samrat Yantra) in the background
After a great 8 nights in Nepal it was back to India to visit other parts of Rajasthan. Our first stop was Jaipur also known as the "pink city", my favorite color. We stayed at Arya Niwas, which was a short cycle rickshaw away from the old part of town.

It was here that I became obsessed with bracelets, and had daddy buy me a bunch. At one place, a person made them just for me.

My highlight of Jaipur was going to Chokhi Dani which was a really interesting restaurant/theme park. I was able to ride an elephant and a camel!!! It was also a lot of fun to sit on the floor and eat at the restaurant.

In the old city (the pink city) we went to the main sites, including the Hawa Mahal, the city palace and the Jantar Mantar. However, the best place we visited was a little outside of town....The Amber Palace and the Jaigarh Fort. Another highlight of Jaipur, was Galta, also known as the monkey palace. I had fun here, shouting "Swiper dont Swipe It" to all the monkeys after my experience at the monkey temple in Kathmandu. I also had
City PalaceCity PalaceCity Palace

me in front of the "largest silver crafted object in the world"
a good time at the sun temple on the top of the mountain. The royal gaitor was also very cool.

It was hard for me to understand why so many people had a "boo boo" on their forehead. Daddy tried to tell me it wasn't a boo boo, but I kept calling it that. Toward the end of the trip, daddy bought me some "boo boo" stickers and I put it on my forehead as well.

After 4 nights, it was time to move on......5 hour train ride to Jodhpur.


Additional photos below
Photos: 69, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

I liked this lionI liked this lion
I liked this lion

Royal Gaitor
pretty in pinkpretty in pink
pretty in pink

city palace
Me and DaddyMe and Daddy
Me and Daddy

On a camel
Me and DaddyMe and Daddy
Me and Daddy

Jaigarh Fort
having funhaving fun
having fun

city palace
Looking CuteLooking Cute
Looking Cute

Amber Fort
Looking CuteLooking Cute
Looking Cute

Top of Iswari Minar
Huge Sun DialHuge Sun Dial
Huge Sun Dial

Samrat Yantra in the Jantar Mantar
SwingingSwinging
Swinging

City Palace
very colorfulvery colorful
very colorful

city palace


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb