A Few Weeks in Boda


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
November 14th 2007
Published: November 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

BarBQBarBQBarBQ

Swayambhunath (monkey temple) Kathmandu
A long few weeks spent in Bodh(nath) and Pokhara...amongst other things...mostly working in internet cafes.

A typical day waking up to the sounds of barking dogs, cooing pidgeons outside my window and monastery horns and drums around 7:00. I am staying at the Dragon Guest House run by a Tibetan family from northern Nepal (forbidden land of Mustang). Breakfast in the garden in a sliver of sunlight surrounded by bougainvillea, a vegetable garden, and other greenery. Milk coffee with home made brown bread and a smattering of butter and red non-descript sweet jam.

Every morning I join the stupa rush hour and do 3 laps around. Always in a clockwise direction as dictated by buddhist tenants. Then, up to the internet cafe to slug it out with various documents. A slow process some days depending on the web connection. A regular distraction is meeting up with Nick, an Australian who just married a Tibetan woman from Langtang. I met them on their way hiking back down to Kathmandu after the wedding. There is a great sandwich shop around the corner where I can get fresh sliced egg. tomato, lettuce on a baguette and a milk coffee for less than
All Seeing EyesAll Seeing EyesAll Seeing Eyes

Stupa at Bodhnath
$1.50. Simple food is delicious after weeks of rice, momos, curried vegetable and other selected Asian culinary items.

Here are a few pictures to give you a feel for how I have passed my time...


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Pink Pink PinkPink Pink Pink
Pink Pink Pink

Hibiscus in Shechen gardens Kathmandu
Sunset at BodaSunset at Boda
Sunset at Boda

Bodhnath Kathmandu
My Garden RetreatMy Garden Retreat
My Garden Retreat

Shechen Guesthouse where I stayed in Kathmandu


15th November 2007

Wow!
Am enjoying your photos, absolutely spectacular! You are one brave lady to adventure out on your own at times! Sounds like you are enjoying and I am enjoying all your entrys! Keep them coming! Stay safe!! XO Karen
8th January 2008

Keeping rolling
just emailed Susan....have managed to access ...great stuff looks wonderful and wonder how long you will be away?love Wendy in UK
3rd March 2008

World Wide Telus service NOT
No matter where you go my associates are there to keep the network going, always the best of service. If you have any trouble with your cell phone just let me know I am sure I will be around in the next year or two to help out. I am really missing you ice climbing. Best wishes; John

Tot: 0.296s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb