Day 45 - A late start to an easy day


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
September 2nd 2015
Published: September 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 45 - A late start to an easy day

This is my last full day in Nepal, in fact, of the trip! I really don't intend to do anything that will take any effort today. My plan is, to do nothing! Although I do question my plan as I really aren't very good at doing nothing! The thought of doing nothing is always a bit of a dream, but when it arrives I soon get fidgety, and bored!

I slept ok last night, although was face timing until late! I also spent a while looking at the different ways I can attempt to put all of my shopping into my rucksack! I would say that solving logical puzzles is one of my strengths, but this one has got me stumped! It does look a bit of an impossibility!

I woke up at about 8.30am, then pottered around in the room for a while, had a shower etc. I went for breakfast at about 9.30. It was a long, slow leisurely breakfast, due to not going anywhere today. Breakfast was accompanied by about four cups of tea!

I took a stroll out into the garden with as American newspaper. I think I sat there for an hour or two, reading all about news that really didn't mean much to me.

Whenever I travel, and I'm sure it happens to everyone else too, but especially when you are away for a while, you completely lose track of the day, date, and time! I am aware that it is day 45, but that is the extent of my time frame! And I only know that because I blog every day! You also loose total track of what may be happening in the world! It's not a bad thing, I think that because I have no real deadlines, pressures, or timed elements, it's just not something at the front of my mind.

That all changes tomorrow, my first deadline, flight home at 9.35am! In starting to think back in reality, I'm not sure how I will cope with no work when I get home!

On 31st August was my final official day as an employee at Newland School for Girls. I kept thinking about it, it was a weird feeling, I didn't know if I wanted to laugh out with joy, or cry with sadness!

On reflection, I'm probably more happy than sad! With all my personal losses, I lost my passion for my job, therefore it was the right time for me to leave. I had a great 8 years. I made a huge difference to a lot of girls, a good job done, and that's what I got paid for!

When I return home, my plan is that I am not making any attempt to find work for the first few months, but we'll see how the boredom goes! Lol

See, I'm sat here, in the garden, and my thoughts are bouncing all over! I can't just sit! I need to do something! I decide to go for a walk down to the tourist area in Thamel. I really enjoyed the cappuccino at Giai restaurant, so will return there. I will enjoy the walk, then I will have earned my coffee, and it will pass a bit of time without being tiring! Plan set!

I set off, I can see on my iPhone map that the Garden of Dreams is very close, and I will know my way from there. Thank goodness I got a Nepali SIm, with Internet!

The walk takes about 20 minutes, the traffic is crazy, but not in a forgiving way like Vietnam and India. The road crossing theory there is, 'just walk, and continue to walk', the traffic here doesn't really allow for that. The theory here is stand near a traffic cop. They control the traffic, some from their little podium in the middle of the road, and some from the crossings, either way, it's your only chance!

There is a lot of renovation in the paths, I don't think it's earthquake damage, it's just rubbish workmanship! So getting around all that adds to the hassle as you have to dance between the bikes and cars in the road gutter, whilst remembering to lower your head, so as to not get strangled by the dropping electricity wires! I have posted a f pic previously of the drooping wiring, but will repost as it is relevant!

I finally arrive at Giai, order my well earned cappuccino! Yes, it was worth it!

I took a walk through the very busy tourist streets..... Oops, I accidentally did a bit more shopping! That'll make my already impossible packing even harder... Lol I continue my walk back to the hotel. It's not too hot today, so I go to my room, get my pool gear, and spend the rest of the day by the pool. Hmmm... Maybe I'll get a last minute tan!

I'm laying round the pool with my thoughts of home bouncing all over again, wondering how my Dad is, that's one subject I have been purposely avoiding. I think speaking to him is worse than not speaking to him, because from here there isn't anything I can do anyway. I send messages through the kids, as far as I am aware, he is ok, or as ok as he can be, but I won't really know until I get home, as no one really tells me anyway!

I'm looking so forward to getting to know Thea, my 7 week old granddaughter. That's exciting!

I'm looking forward to catching up with Beth, Ross and Ella to find out what's been happening for them.

Looking forward to catching up with Helen, to talk about our travels in Vietnam and Cambodia, which seems like such a long time ago!

Hmmm.... They are all positive things, so maybe in more ready for home than I realise!

I had planned to go to afire and since for my evening meal, then the rain came! Change of plan then! I'll have to eat in the hotel, there's no way I'm going out in that weather! So its food, then major bag packing!

That's it, jobs done! My bag is big, full, and heavy.... But it is fastened!

I've booked my airport taxi for 6.30am.... So it'll be a cup of tea, and an early night for me!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb