Goa to Kathmandu by air


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
April 30th 2013
Published: April 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

How the other half live....How the other half live....How the other half live....

Business class in-flight meal, followed by a cup of masala tea. Don't mind if I do!
Leg one: Goa to Mumbai, 6:15pm.

After saying my goodbyes, I was picked up by my taxi driver at 2:30pm and driven to Goa airport. I found the airport very strange. It's quite organised but in a very chaotic way, if that makes sense. There was plenty of seating, though, so I was happy.

I got chatting to a kindly old Indian man (who lives in the UK) at the departure gate. He offered me a mango, but was very shady in the way he gave it to me, like he was handing me drugs. I tried to refuse but he looked offended, so I accepted it, making a mental note to ditch it on the plane. I'm sure there was nothing untoward about the fruit, but I did worry the whole way that maybe it wasn't what it seemed. I was picturing myself as another well-educated, unfortunate (or, er, dumb-ass) British bird to appear in the news papers, having been arrested for drug trafficking.

I arrived at Mumbai airport arrivals and made my way to departures. I was immediately struck by the fact that people here are so nice! Even a guy trying to sell me a hotel stay showed me to departures and didn't hassle me when I refused his sales pitch!

Leg two: Mumbai to Delhi, 2:20am.

When trying to go into departures, however, I was refused entry. Why? Because I was not flying until 2:20am and it was only 8pm. I asked the woman if I could just wait inside, since it's not really safe for a lone woman to be sitting around outside. She said to come back at midnight. I bargained a little. Clearly irritated by my persistence, she said to come back at 10pm. I graciously accepted, and made swift my exit before she changed her mind.

I strolled over to Starbucks and got chatting to the lads behind the counter, who seemed extremely happy to see me (seriously, I think they mistook me for some Hollywood actress or something!). I ordered an iced latte and was given a free wifi access card, which i think they normally sell. They even called over to ask how my coffee is! Now, that is service. Unfortunately, however, the wifi didn't work. Still, the thought was there. I managed to log onto another network, anyway. The highlight of my night (thus far) was having the staff say "Goodbye Vicky!" in unison as I left. Simple pleasures.

After further 'helpless woman' negotiations to make my way into departures (the original woman had clocked off), I sat scrolling through my photos and realised I've been a bit slack on the photography front. One thing I've learnt from this trip that you can't fully appreciate a place from behind a camera. I'm sure this will come as a shock to some of you, given that I'm known for not being able to live without my darling Nikon. Imagine how I'd have coped had Inge not found it in her bag the night I lost it in Buzz (Cheongju)! I feel queasy just thinking about it.

Anyway, I checked in, wandered around and eventually made my way to the gate, where the Lucknow flight was still boarding. My flight wasn't due to start boarding until 1:40am (another ten minutes), so I kicked back and played games on the ol' iPad.

The Lucknow flight started showing up on the screen as closing at around 1:50am, and I assumed my flight would be a bit delayed. Then, I heard an announcement stating that the 'Delhi - Lucknow' flight was closing. I jumped up and ran over to the gate to enquire, discovering that the flight first stops in Delhi, then Lucknow. Nice of them to tell me this. My annoyance was momentary, however, as I was then told that I'd been upgraded to business class. It was one of those moments that I would have loved to have someone to high-five. Instead, I had a private celebration in my head, complete with arse-wiggle dancing and Barney Stinson-style "whaddup"ing.

Business class. Wow. How the other half live. I could actually stretch my legs out at full-length so that the soles of my feet were touching the back of the chair in front. I was immediately greeted with the choice of cold coffee or water. I opted for water, and it was served in an actual glass, set upon a coaster. I tried my best to hide my 'poor girl in a rich world' excitement.

Next, I was addressed as Miss Franklin and asked what meal I would like from the menu. I chose samosas with a chick-pea curry and fresh fruit salad. Once we were in the air, a table cloth was laid (yes - a f*cking table cloth on an airplane!) and my food served. It was (as I guess should be the case) the best in-flight meal I've ever had. Then, I was presented with a choice of teas, so I went for Tetley with masala. Jet Airways are my new favourite airline.

Once I'd eaten, I tucked my legs up on my chair (yep, it was spacious enough for me to do that!), popped on the iPod and stared out the window at the patches of lit-up areas below. I eventually dozed off for all of twenty minutes before waking up at a stand-still on the runway.

Now, you can obviously tell I was over the moon with my upgrade, but that doesn't mean I felt entirely comfortable. I clearly stood out, looking homeless in unwashed linens and practically see-through tank top, not knowing how to open my tray table, and marvelling at the multi-function comfort levels on my seat. Being the odd one out is nothing new to me, and I wasn't particularly bothered, but I didn't like the attitudes of my fellow passengers. The flight attendants were politely asking people what they wanted to eat, offering drinks etc, and were being met with grunts and total absence of manners. I'm sure the staff knew I was a business class newbie by the way I thanked them profusely for everything and apologised for being such a knob that I couldn't unfold my table. I just found some of the other passengers' attitudes rude and unnecessary, and almost longed for fellow chicken-class passengers.

Leg three: Delhi to Kathmandu, 7:30am.

I already received an email a few hours prior stating that my flight had been rescheduled to an hour later. No biggie. So, after completing my departure form and literally dragging my energy-less body through to the gate, I plonked myself down and sat in a zombie-like trance until I had to board at 7am. At I forced myself to stay awake, with every intention of zonking out on the plane. And, as such, with the exception of a quick breakfast, sleeping was all my body was capable of throughout the flight.

Arriving at Kathmandu airport, I completed the visa forms and gave myself an imaginary head-slap when I read the sign stating that the visa fee must be paid in cash. I had nothing on me, bar a few Indian rupees. My passport was taken and I was sent out of the airport to another building for an ATM. When I returned, I was told I can't pay in Nepalese rupees. So, I had to change some for dollars. Then, I was granted my visa.

I had arranged a pick-up service with Alobar1000 hostel, but nobody came. So, wasting no time, I negotiated a taxi price of 650 rupees (saving 50 rupees on the price the hostel quoted) and hopped in. The streets here are crowded and dusty, but the weather is much less humid than India.

I can't say I'm massively impressed with the hostel. It's like a maze and I have to go up four flights of stairs, cross the cafe area, then down a steep metal stair case to my room. And the shower is off of the cafe, so not very private. I did get chatting to some of my room mates, however, one of whom lent me her phone to call Madan. I'm now awaiting his brother's arrival to help me sort out a SIM card and what I should do whilst in Kathmandu.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb