Being timeless in Kathmandu


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
September 28th 2010
Published: September 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today is my first day totally alone and I have given myself the day off to feel timeless and lost and in no hurry in Kathmandu. I got up early and ventured into central Kathmandu for breakfast and some chilling. I love this part of the day. It's quiet, the people haven't really woken up yet, the namastes are genuine and no one is trying to get your attention. There are no cars, bikes, motors, rickshaws on the roads and the street traders are cleaning their windows, dusting their goods down and enjoying the still.

I had breakfast at Northfields cafe and it occured to me that I was not at my desk, talking to a client. I was in Nepal. It's still hard to take it in you know, I am perpetually under the subliminal impression that I going to fly home any day. I stayed in the cafe for a while, wrote some postcards and just enjoyed the fact that I was on me time. I'm really loving Nepal in many ways. I love the fact that sandlewood hits me everytime I walk out my room or down a street. I love the array of colour, in every corner, in every texture, in every shop. I love the fact that perfect strangers say namaste and ask me how I am and this is normal. I love the free smiles and the easy grace that the Nepalese have.

Okay, so it's not perfect. There are bad things, a major one being the pollution. Nothing could have prepared me for how polluted and dusty Kathmandu was going to be. I have been wearing my surgical mask and coughing like crazy. Other things is the constant hassle of trying to walk down the street without ruining your buzz or your concentration. If you are trying to find a certain place- just forget it! Concentrating is like torture a little. There is a constant soundtrack of; 'excuse meee, maam, you want to buy something', 'namaste, rick shaw, taxi where you going', 'namaste, can I help you' , excuse me, you want trekking', 'maam, good day, where are you from'.... you get the picture. So on many excursions to find places, it's been impossible as the moment you stand still and look lost or doubtful, you're in trouble. It's like being poked in the eye constantly. Second to that is the hooting of horns! My goodness! I have being to India and the hooting of horns was constant, but there, the horns faded quickly and didn't linger, they weren't so ear crushingly loud. Here, they hit the horn and hold it down, ALL THE WAY DOWN THE STREET! It really frazzels the nerves.

But I'm not complaining, it's great. I've alive, I'm lucky, I am well, I am smiling, I love the universe for all its generous gives, plus horns!

I booked a trek around some villages tomorrow, which I'm really excited about as I might breathe some fresher air. We trek for about 6 hours around Newari villages and at the moment it's just me and a guide. Then the day after tomorrow, I have booked some rafting down the Tuisslu river. Not satisfied with that and on a roll, I also finally booked my Annapurna Circuit trek! It starts on Friday so I will be internetless for 2 weeks from Friday as I'll be busy conquering mountains - whoo! One thing that this trip has taught me is that I love mountains. I need mountains. I am free and happy near mountains. I' m trying to b e clever as bus journeys in Nepal are crazy, dangerous, bumpy things, so after rafting, I am going to stay in a lodge or camp beside the river, and the trek is going to pick me up enroute!

So now I am just relaxing, I have a ayurvedic massage booked at 4pm (don't hate me too much, I deserve it) and I am really loving my own company (though it's only been on e day). I went to join a yoga class earlier, but I was a little to late. I think I will try and go find another one now, I need to capitalise on all this marvellous energy.

Hope all is well, lots of love and namaste xxx

Advertisement



28th September 2010

Fantastic stuff
Hi Serpil, Really enjoyable write up. Glad you are enjoying life and the globe in all its glory. Wish I could be there. I think the pictures are just amazing. I'm about to sit my exam now - 3.5 hours 96 question... yippee yahooo not!!! Enjoy all that you do. Love and kissess xxxx M.

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb