48 Hours in Thamel


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
September 30th 2007
Published: September 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So about 40 hours later, I am in Nepal. Flying in was a shock in itself, the countryside is very green and hilly, spotted with little leggo buildings and prayer flags. Absolutely beautiful country. Have not seen the big mountain yet, as it's been a bit rainy and cloudy since I got here- but the sun is out today! So completely overwhelming. Honking, bright colors, traffic traveling in both directions as well as bikes, mopeds and people all fighting to get through on a 'road' mmm 10 feet wide? Shops right up on the street and no sidewalk, so good luck in not having your feet run over! The bike horns sound like dying ducks. And there was a cow hanging out sleeping on the side of the road on my journey from the airport to the hotel. Think NYC cab drivers times 100. I thought I was going to die... that fellow knew the width of his car to the millimeter- I was laughing the entire time. Exiting the airport was overwhelming. I felt like I was some kind of celebrity with this big crowd of people all fighting for a chance to transport me. You can't accuse them of not having determination! But (insert spiritual aaahhhh here), the clouds part and the fellow with my name on a sign approaches me- oh thank you so much for saving me from this madness. I kept losing him the crowd on the way to the car and repeatedly made sure that he was coming in the car with me.
Everyone speaks amazing English! However, this is the extremely touristy area of the city so that would make sense. But is very nice and convenient to not have to worry about a different language while adjusting to this. Tomorrow is the first day of training that will last one week. They'll be teaching us some basic language then as well as teaching us about the culture, what to expect on our assignment and how to wash at the local tap in our villiage while wearing this ridiculous bathing outfit that covers everything from our shoulders to our kees. Yes, good luck with that. I'll have someone snap a photo.
My bed in the hotel is a rock with a sheet and blanket on it. It's hard. Thank goodness for my airplane neck pillow I brought along. For that, I am truly blessed. The pillows are hardly an improvement over a hunk of cardboard. Honestly. May have to induldge in a massage here in town before the end of my training.
So they have bars that are extremely similar to those back home, complete with cover bands highlighting anything from Queen to the Killers to Bon Jovi. Feels just like home (but that's pretty much all that does).
I've been conquering the water situation thus far with bottled water. Used my UV light to treat my first liter last night, and have been using that just for teeth brushing and washing my face to make sure it's safe. I know the UV light kills everything, but still, you have to be a bit apprehensive with water that gives everyone (to put it mildly) 'digestive issues'. Interpret as you will.
Climate? It's kind of muggy actually because of the rain, it's the 'wee end' of the rainy season, so I'm sure things are to dry off shortly. It's been a pretty consistent 76-78 (25 C) both day and night, though yet again, that will change drastically at night as it gets later into the year.
I've met most of the volunteers already and we've been out to dinner as well as a couple nights out on the town. All are extremely nice and personable- very excited to get to know them better! They are all more than likely in different villages but we'll certainly reconvene on our weekly Saturday off back here in town as well as planned excursions such as the Anapurna Circuit Trek, Everest Base Camp Trek, Chitwan Nat'l Wildlife Refuge, Bungee Jumping/Canyoning/Rafting- so many outdoor activities to do here- reminds me of New Zealand in that regard.
Okay I'm getting sweaty in this room half the size of my former living room. Must get out into the beautiful sun! Thank you all for your prayers and wishes and I'll be sure to update again within the next few days.

Elizabeth

Advertisement



30th September 2007

So happy you're safe!!
Leggo houses and dying duck horns?!? Shoot--sign me up! And does your bathing suit look like a onesie? With a shower cap on and a special water bottle? Bc I think I've seen that photo already... ;) It sounds incredible out there, and I'm SO glad you made it safe! Let us all know how your itinerary looks once you plan it all out! What you'll be up to for the first couple weeks, who you're staying with, etc. You should watch the Story of the Weeping Camel...it's set in Mongolia but your description reminded me of it a bit. Save the Everest Trek for me! Seriously--looking into tickets and Marius might come too! Still gotta get lots of bumps worked out...but you better know your Big Bump is well worth it. Glad you're safe--can't wait to hear about all your adventures!!
1st October 2007

So glad you made it there safely, sounds like an adventure already!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb