Spirituality for sale in Kathmandu


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
April 2nd 2014
Published: April 29th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Rooftop Thamel



Rooftop Thamel



Thamel is the tourist center of Kathmandu, Nepal. There are numerous souvenir stands and trekking agencies. Majority of visitors come to Nepal for its natural beauty and trekking. I am no different. There are also bars that caters to every visitor's interest. The area itself exudes a peaceful enlighten state, which intrigues travelers. The streets of Thamel are crammed packed with stores, venders, restaurants, people, mini hatchbacks and motorbikes. It can be a little overwhelming for those who are claustrophobes. The smell of incense hovers above. Outside of Thamel, is much different. The streets are not as clean. A lot of rubbish, but Nepalis are very nice people who are very curious of new faces. Kathmandu is India lite.



Streets of Thamel.


"Contemplated doing some trekking in Nepal, but I'm not into trekking. I feel like I would miss out on great views if I don't do it.".
Journal Entry: 04.04.2014









"Yuval is a cool dude. I've learned a lot from him, but its time for me to be out on my own again. He gave me good advice about life and women. That the best thing to do is just accept the moment I'm in. So, if I am alone at this time, then I'm alone at this time. He's not a bad person. He just lacks a sense of empathy for people. He is very straight forward and speaks his mind. That's a good and a bad quality. I can't help the fact that he is trying to dictate my route or trying to make me follow his. He doesn't seem to think about anyone else other than himself. He is just like me, yet he is also the polar opposite. Very interesting meet up."
Journal Entry: 04.06.2014






Durbar Square (Bad panoramic shot).



Durbar Square.



















Baoli (Stepwell), a water well.



A Nepalese actress. I was star struck, even though I didn't even know who she was.


Additional photos below
Photos: 75, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Mumbai AirportMumbai Airport
Mumbai Airport

I had a 10+ hours layover here. Found a spot to sleep until my flight to Kathmandu.


Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb