My favourite people in Kathmandu!!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamal
July 12th 2006
Published: July 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Long overdue!! These lovely people are dearly missed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Three buddhas......Three buddhas......
Three buddhas......

With Alia the night before we split to go our seperate ways first time....
Alia, Byron, Barry, James, Wendy et moi....Alia, Byron, Barry, James, Wendy et moi....
Alia, Byron, Barry, James, Wendy et moi....

Great crowd,the guys were my bodyguards at the Maoist demo. James and Wendy are still in Kathmandu doing voluntary work...
AmritAmrit
Amrit

One of the nicest guys you could meet and a dear friend. Worked in jewellery shop directly opposite my room when I had my ankle injury. Used to invite me in for tea and a chat and never tried to sell me anything! Went out for drinks with him my last night in Nepal.
Street Kids.............Street Kids.............
Street Kids.............

These two guys hung around outside the guesthouse trying to sell bags to the tourists.The one on the right lived only with an older sister and had to fend for himself. Several times he came to me crying when things had gone wrong.He was a tough, but very sweet, kid, and always came up and shook your hand.....
Matt ( rumball slave)Matt ( rumball slave)
Matt ( rumball slave)

Another lifesaver just after my accident who used to carry me around and bandage me up!A good guy...Hellooooooo if you are still reading my blog!!
PrabinPrabin
Prabin

Poor old Prabin had to carry me all the way home directly after my accident,then accompanied me to hospital several weeks later to get my foot checked.
My nurse....My nurse....
My nurse....

Magali,from UK.Nursed my bleeding wounds immediately after accident. Bumped into her again in Delhi!
Drum teachers.....Drum teachers.....
Drum teachers.....

Deep and Monose ( centre)- my drum teachers.Loved their music and such happy happy people!
Drinking tea with lamasDrinking tea with lamas
Drinking tea with lamas

Lobsang Lama ( one of the coolest monks you will ever meet and fanatical about the world cup!) and Sonia from my monastery days.
VIPS!VIPS!
VIPS!

Being bought a drink by the guesthouse manager,last night, Kathmandu.
Hairdressers and booksellersHairdressers and booksellers
Hairdressers and booksellers

The guy on the left cut my hair, the girl on the right worked at the in-house bookshop and was always very sweet.Not sure what the guy in the middle did!!
Reception Staff.....Reception Staff.....
Reception Staff.....

The guy in the middle alwyas had a smile on his face.I gave him a consultation by torchlight when he had pain in his mouth and told me he had worms decaying his teeth!!!!


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb