Soaked in Kathmandu


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamal
March 30th 2009
Published: March 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Namaste!

Have arrived in Kathmandu, feeling quite jet lagged and spacey. It's same vibrant, colourful, dusty, bustling place as ever and managed to find Brian and the group that I am walking with. There are about 15 of us (!) and they're mostly Scottish and very nice. We'll see what happens at altitude!!! And now I'm sheltering in an internet cafe in Thamel (kathmandu region), someone is smoking a joint just outside, not that I'm sheltering from that, but from the most massive thunderstorm and rainstorm. Hope not a harbinger of things to come!!! (I've come on holiday by mistake....are you the farmer? Another film ref, only Withnail and I devotees will get).

Just off to buy some pharmaceuticals. You can get anything here, although very boringly I'm just after Melatonin (for jet lag), Diamox (for altitude) and a knock out horse strength antibiotic for nasty bowel bacteria. (Just in case) Unless anyone wants me to get them something more exciting?!

Anyway, will write more amusingly tomorrow before I leave for the trek on Tuesday morning.

xx




Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb