It's a tough job but someone has to do it... Part 13 - unlucky for some...


Advertisement
Maldives' flag
Asia » Maldives » Male Atoll
January 27th 2013
Published: January 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Goodbye....



It is with a sad heart that I write my final blog (for now anyway...) from Hudhuran Fushi in the beautiful Maldives... I don't know where the past couple of months have gone - it's flown by and tomorrow I return to the UK... at least one dress size smaller (without Gym useage...) and a with a subtle golden tan... until I hit the beach later and turn into a human lobster...

I would like to give massive thanks to all my friends who have read, commented and supported me with my blogs - writing them has kept me sane and nearly prevented me (but not quite) from getting island fever!!!

There have been many highs and a few lows along the way but I have survived - at times I felt like I was on 'I'm a Celebrity - Get me out of here...' but the good times far outweighed the bad and I will be very sorry when I have to get on that big airplane tomorrow - not to mention the floods of tears from having to say goodbye to so many fantastic new friends! You guys know who you are and I can't begin to tell you how much I'm gonna miss you all.

I have just taken a final walk around my island and took a few photos - I have a lot of goodbyes to do later and then I think I'll maybe spend some time with Cptn Morgan tonight... I think I said previously that we had renewed our friendship :-)

Good news - the mosquitos have finally started picking on other people and apart from the odd bite I've been mosi free for several weeks now - typical! Big thanks there to my marvellous manager for bringing me SAS strength mosi repellent from the UK... If I return I'll have a case full of the stuff! Just need to remember not to smoke when applying - it's lethal...

So, I failed miserably on the diving front out here and I didn't really get to grips with snorkelling but I guess that's just another good reason to come back sometime and try again - I may be many things but I don't consider myself a quitter. I'm hoping for one more spin on a jetski later - I love whizzing about the Indian Ocean... I'm just not so keen on being in/under it... I did another Dolphin Trip a few days ago but there was a distinct lack of dolphins... actually there were none... zero... we did see a turtle though and a flip flop... fortunately my companion had her lucky dolphin keyring so all was not lost - see pic ;-)

I hope those of you reading my blog in the UK and Europe have survived the snow and ice - just think of me landing at Gatwick tomorrow evening with no coat or proper shoes, having spent the last two and a half months strolling through the sand in bare feet in 30c - anyone free to come to LGW with a coat and a pair of UGGs would be most welcome!! Call me for my flight details...

So this is it - I'm packed and ready to rock n roll my way off the island - I have some fab memories and I hope to return one day... until then I wish you all the very best, stay safe and have fun - wherever you are in the world.

Love Tallulah xx

Advertisement



27th January 2013

Thanks for all the great blogs, Barbara - they've been a brilliant read! Enjoy your last day on the island, and in case you haven't already heard, you've timed your return to the UK perfectly - Darn Sarf, at any rate, every last trace of snow has disappeared and temperatures are climbing to double-digits, so your scanty attire at Gatwick shouldn't be too much of a problem! Have a good flight tomorrow, and see you soon hopefully. xxx
20th February 2013

Awwwww, so sad you had to leave. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your Blog and I think you should continue writing them, wherever you end up next (internet provision permitting). Chat to you soon. LUBNLT xox

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb