It's a tough job but someone has to do it... Part 4


Advertisement
Maldives' flag
Asia » Maldives » Male Atoll
November 18th 2012
Published: November 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Surfs up on Hudhuran Fushi

I have moved islands... I feel settled at last and I like my new home... the surfers are out in force so bring it on!!

My room now has personal touches... photos, fairy lights and of course my Bon Jovi calendar :-)

So the past couple days have been quite eventful - I got caught in a moonsoon like downpour in Male, I was literally soaked to the skin and think I would have faired pretty well in a 'Miss Wet T-Shirt' competition... serioiusly WHITE is not a good colour! At least I had colour co-ordinating undies on - shame my cheeks were glowing scarlett from embarrassment!

I obviously moved to my new home and explored the island... all paths lead to the big breaking waves :-)

For anyone interested this is a mosiquito bite update - finally the itcing has subsided and I now just have a nice array of about 30 scabs on my legs... I would like to know why I was only bitten from the knees down and on my left arm...? Answers on a postcard please :-) My theory is that before I left the UK I had blood tests and they took the blood from my right arm and the mosquitos know this... I don't know how but they do!

I have been told there have been a couple of pressing issues missing from my blogs... tan and gym - I'm not a natural sun worshipper as such but slowly does it and I already have a passable flip flop line... I am trying desparately not to get burnt so I could be the same colour on my return to the UK as I was when I left...

And now for the gym - yes, I did promise I would go daily... I also said I'd knock drinking on the head for 3 months and that lasted just a matter of hours... need I say more - I have looked at the gym on Hudhuran Fushi, does that count?

If I do put a session in I will let you all know.

My manager accompanied me to Hudhuran Fushi yesterday, shortly after leaving me to unpack she returned and said 'get your swimsuit on we're going out on a jet ski' - apparently it's classed as island orientation if anyone asks...

It was fantastic... we rode along, quite a way from shore and before long we were joined by a pod of about 40 dolphins - I was completely in awe - I feel very priviledged to have experienced such a wonderful sight.

I then enjoyed a rather large rum & coke whilst watching the sunset... what a day!

My plans for today include... exploring further the surfing side of the island - you can never do too much research... and this evening I am going to watch the fish feeding (including sharks) - I'll let you know how it goes in my next blog.

Until then - happy adventures wherever you are in the world - stay safe

Tallulah x

Advertisement



21st November 2012

Wherever you hang your Fairy-lights, that's your home... happy to hear you're settling in. Looking forward to the next blog :) xox
22nd November 2012

Sounds brilliant - so much for getting fit and healthy! - still time perhaps. Wish i was there now - its windy, dark and raining here, with more of the same forecast. A monsoon sounds a lot more exciting! Glad you like it there, have a cocktail for me and say hi to the 3 lizards. Hope you enjoy the surfing - look forward to your next blog.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb