Peninsular Malaysia & Thailand


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
June 23rd 2010
Published: October 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Kaula Lumpur after nearly missing our flight from Tawau, it was a close call. Had a 3 hour bus ride to Ipoh where we stayed at the Golden Inn, sounds really cheap and it was! The next day we visited the local shopping centre, I am loving the Asian fashion, Bought some snazzy shorts as mine were falling apart after wearing them repeatedly. Bought some snacks for the bus ride as we were planning to head straight to the Cameron Highlands, Mark has an addiction to Bombay mix but I stuck with my usual Mento's and Milo, you dont get bad breath that way lol.

As we arrived at the bus station we soon came to realise the bus was full and we were going to have to wait 3 1/2 hours for the next bus which meant we were going to arrive pretty late in the evening and we had no where to stay in the Highlands as yet. Ow well the joy's of travelling, we were cool and went to relax with our books, then at the last minute the driver shouted to us and managed to squeeze us on the back of the bus with
Fathers guest houseFathers guest houseFathers guest house

Love you Fathers! xxxxxxxxxxxxx
all the luggage, we were pretty pleased, you dont get that sort of service in England, saying that I think we have H&S regulations lol. Just before we left the bus station I realised I had lost my new shorts I bought from the shopping centre, how I dont know, my poor little Asian shorts gone forever.

The journey took around 2 hours, it was a nice drive and as soon as we got onto the uphill climb we knew we were not that far away, however it was a long way up. We drove past butterfly farms, strewberry farms and bee hives. I was really excited to stay here, I had not seen much yet but I knew I would enjoy it, it had a good reputation between our fellow travellers so it must be good. When entering the mountains surrounded by jungle the temprature dropped, it was cool and calming, long sleeved tops and scarfs were needed which was strange as we just come from humid heat just a few hours before.

We soon arrived in Tanah Rata, we already knew what guest house we wanted to head to but a man with a van insisted
Rose gardensRose gardensRose gardens

Worth the climb, great view!
on giving us a lift to another guesthouse near Father's guesthouse, so we assumed if we didnt like that one we only had a short walk to the one we wanted so we happley obliged. We walked out as soon as we walked in, the place was yuck! the driver kindly dropped us off at Father's, lifts for free, just what we planned!

Father's guest house was charming a beautiful house perched on top of a hill full of flowers with garden side rooms, all you could hear was the birds, it was sooo peaceful, we took the last room aswell, lucky us! I even had the joy's of hanging my clothes up here, which was a novelty! It was a family run guest house and had a great food menu, I knew I wouldnt want to leave, it is a place people would go to ascape, to hide away for a while watching the world go by.

After a restful night sleep we had a morning and afternoon of exciting places to visit. I will start with the Rose garden. It was full of Roses obviously including the famous green rose which can only be found in Malaysia. I pictured how a green rose would look, we were all pretty excited to see this green rose.

I think I laughed out loud when it was presented to us as it was more like a green weed, it was funny because Malay's have a way of exaggerating and giving things big important names which are never really that amazing, this was one of those moments. Mark and I chuckled typical Malay's, you got to love them though, and I do they are fab people!

We took a walk up to the top of the hill to find a beautiful view across the valley. There was a shoe house and a green dragon on the way down which seemed a little random, I was making Mark run past them whilst I was taking photo's, I can not even remember what the joke was or why now but I am still laughing? what was it? how can you laugh at a joke you can not even remember? There were so many pretty flowers, my garden is going to look good with all these new found ideas.

We also visited a honey farm, bee hives for all to see. It was a little touristy however we managed to get some gorgeous honey that we had on our toast for the next few days, it was lovely. Strawberries, Strawberries and more Strawberries! Visiting this farm was truly a treat, Strawberry milkshake, Strawberry jam, Strawberry waffles with Strewberry icecream and Strewberry tart, yum yum yum! I saw a little roof terrace as we drove in so we went and sat up there taking in the view while enjoying our pleasentries. It was all as good as it sounded, truly truly scruptious!

One of the main things that makes the Cameron Highland as popular as it is today is for it's beautiful tea plantations, the fields of tea looked beautiful, shaping the hills all around us as we drove through. The drive into the tea plantation was not only beautiful but quite amazing. There I go again using the word 'amazing'! I cannot help it this trip is sick!!! PHAT!!!! what ever way you want me to describe it but it is amazing!lol.

There was only one road in and out and there was a section of road that only had enough width for one car, if we were not clever about it you would all be stuck, and we were. Some twat was completely blocking the way and no matter how many cars bibed at him he just would not move. As the time went by more and more cars would come round the bend and down the hill blocking the way even more. Then there he was, this guy jumped out of his car and took over, waving and instructing cars from both directions. He would of won the gold for best lollypop man I can tell you. He managed to sort the hole traffic line out in about 5 to 10 minutes. We cheered him as we drove past, who ever you were mate smashing job!

We had a guided tour round the factory showing us the different processes in how tea was made, the tour guide however was more interested in my breasts, it was so obvious he was stearing I had to keep standing behind people so he would just look up. After our tour ended we had the pleasure of trying a few differnet teas. Mark and I picked different kinds, we always loved sharing drinks and food?lol. There was a balcony we enjoyed our tea on overlooking the plantation, there were hectres of green, it was so beautiful.

We visited a butterfly farm which also had many other insects including, scorpions, leaf insects, spiders, snakes, lizards and many more bugs to see and touch! I had a scorpion put on my shoulder Mark thought I was mad, it was nothing compared to the scorpion fishing and scorpions in my mouth in Indonesia, that was scary!

My inner child was coming out in me, I was a excited to enter the butterfly farm, I hoped that a butterfly would land on me as it is supposed to bring you lots of luck, no such luck this time though. I took some pretty picture's creaping up to them before they had a chance to fly away. I noticed many butterflies on the floor unable to fly, they were dying, did everyone else know that butterflies only lived for one day! how sad for such a pretty thing to only be in the world for one day and what a bloody wait they had to have from lavae to catapilla to cocoon to butterfly, I bet they wouldnt even bother if they knew they only had 24hrs lol !

I officially had a great day!x

Chilling at the Cameron Highlands and living in cooler climates for a while was a real treat, one night we headed out and experienced a Steamboat. The meal I may add not an actual boat peeps incase anyone was confused. The restaurant was on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the street below, it was quite cute. A steamboat is a large cooking bowl heated by a little gase stove. We had raw ingredients given to us that we cooked up ourselves. While waiting for our ingredients Mark decides to press all the buttons on the stove, the gas canister popped out and the waiter had to come back and fix it, that was before the waiter chucked a plate of raw prawns at us and had to go and fetch another plate lol. It was fun cooking all our food, chicken, fish, prawns, vegtables and noodles., missed out the tofu though, I really did try with it but it really is'nt good. We had a few other things that we tried but could not recognise, what was inside that rubbery egg thing? and
INSECTSINSECTSINSECTS

Thats what I call a bettle!
that orange goow? It was a fun meal.

Our time was comimg to an end in the Cameron Highlands, sometimes when your travelling you are happy to leave some places but you are also really sad to leave others, it is such a emotional rollacoaster especially when you meet and say your goodbyes to great people along the way. This was one of those moments, I did not want to leave. However we did leave smiling knowing we were heading to another exciting new place. All the same exciting questions and adventures to experience all over again. How would we get there? where would we stay ?and what will it be like? I love it!!

We had another lengthly bus ride travelling with some french hippies to our next destination. We did manage to stop off half way for some food at a musilm restaurant, strange place as I recall?!

After arriving in Kuala Busat we knew we were only a boat ride away from Palau Perhintian Kecil. We also knew this was going to be a completely different mood to what we have been used to, we were looking forward to the slower pace, beach enviroment.

I was so happy I had my life jacket on for this boat ride, it was crazyness! mega mega waves that hit the boat so hard you felt like your hole body had taken the hit. Everyone on the boat was hanging on, my grip was so tight I actually got cramp in my fingers. We were all laughing at the same time so it was pretty hard to hold on, there was no way I was letting go though. The boat came to a slow stop at the pier of long beach where the majority of the people on the boat got off. We tranfered to another boat, it was a small boat with only the 4 of us to carry. It was a balancing act to get into the boat with our backpacks without falling into the sea but we managed it without any causulties. We were headed to the smaller island at the tip where D'Lagoon was hiding away in it's own little lagoon. When heading to the island it was beautiful, the only thing we saw was a few beach huts a D'Lagoon sign and a monitor lizard resting by the rocks. We were asked to leave the boat waist height in the sea and got told we had to walk from here, it was like something off a film, haha! We jumped in fully clothed balancing our backpacks over our heads walking in land to shore, well ok Mark was carrying our bags above his head, I just about kept myself afloat carrying my day pack! not my fault I am short! lol.

As we approached the main hut we noticed a pigtail macaque tied to a tree, he was the Lagoon's local pet, I was already thinking of ways to sneak out at night and release it back into the wild. Not sure if it was too fair on the little thing but he was good amuzement during our stay I have to say.

We were given a room in the shared huts on the beach' The Parrot Fish quarters' haha!. Very colourful, blue walls as I remember. We only had electricity for parts of the day here, really was cut off from the world I loved the hole idea of it.

Seclusion and serenity would best describe D'lagoon, it gave you privacy and peace, you were surrounded by gentle swaying of coconut palm trees and crystal clear water a true ascape.

If you walked 20minutes or so to the otherside of the Island you would get to Turtle beach. The walk was lovely, exploring and jumping at every monitor lizard that shuffled out of the trees and across our path. I did get pretty good at spotting them after a few days, some of them were pretty big too. Turtle beach was beautiful, it was like we had found an island all for ourselves. We visited the beach two days running and didnt see anyone, it was pure bliss. Had a great laugh playing the jumping game and climbing rocks, watching sunsets and enjoying a beer or two. Writing about it now makes me want to go back ummmmmmm, it really was great times.

Ow my god, I nearly forgot to mention, the shark!!! strolling along the beach and there it was a meter from shore, so close it nearly was beached but it saved its self. I am terrified of sharks but it was pretty cool to see, soon after that we found ourselves shark hunting and after a while watched a few more swim by. They were only small black tiped reef sharks but it was so cool seeing them like that. They would came in the morning and late afternoon to feed of the corals.

There was a communial hut/restarant that the few of us all shared who were staying at D'Lagoon, the food was simple but nice. Dont be ordering rice or noodles for breakfast now ! haha. We noticed that they sold Arak juice (monkey juice) so we purchased a bottle whilst playing are usual battle of the cards. Being on a budget we decided to drink half a bottle and save the other half for the next day! Dont be silly!! haha there was no chance. Mark went to bed and I wanted to stay up so I hanged out with a few Germans + Bin Lardens brother, they gave me free alcohol aswell which was a right result. I was rather tipsy and thought it may be a good idea to go and invite Mark to join us, the ocean sounded so cool as I snuck back to the hut in the darkness. Mark was not impressed when I woke him and when Bin Lardens brother started to walk past our room singing 'Parrott Fish Parrott Fish where are you Parrott Fish' he was some what not amused, wooopppsss! I'm a handfull but I love it!

Snorkling!!!! Off we trotted with our flippies and masks, I was excited to see nemo's and pretty fish but concerned about the sharks. Mark was trying to chill me out about it but they were sharks all the same. After being in Mabul I had a little found confidence in the water so I was quick behind Mark as we entered the water.

Can you believe the first fish we saw was a Parrott fish haha! I remember Mark pointing it out to me and us both being pretty chuffed with our find. No Nemo's but plenty of other gorgoeus fish to see, I was really taking in the under the sea life! down where its better take it from meee!! lalala. And then ..............there it was derr nun,derrr nun der nun der nun nnnn dddddd!!!!!!!!!! I was ok, I was cool, increased heart and respiratory rate but it was small I could deal with it. Along we flipped and flapped, we had gone a little deeper heading towards the coral
Tea plantationTea plantationTea plantation

Tea heaven!
where we knew we would find more life and more sharks!

We were swimming past a gap between two large pieces of coral and there it was a shark, side view eye and all, at least 1 1/2 - 2 metres long that was me done! I jumped over Marks back and grabbed hold of him, drowning him I think. I made it to shore knowing that was me done. Mark was not impressed with me nearly drowning him but after he had recovered and I had got my breath back I was pretty proud that I had continued swimming with the sharks for as long as I did. For those of you that know my fear of sharks knows this was a huge thing for me. I hate it when fear takes a hold of me and stops me doing things. I gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which I really stop to look fear in the face and if I push through my fear I can take the next thing that comes along with even bigger balls so piss on that Sharkies!!! lol x

Cleaning the beach day!!! We volunteered to help clean the beach for the morning, off we went to meet the others that had already gone ahead, the germans!!! I can say it was great fun cleaning the beach clearing it of rubbish and it was a good bonding session aswell as a good deed. Well done to all!! it is amazing how many flip flops are lost at sea and found washed up in lagoons like Turtle beach, literally hundreds! Helping the enviroment, every little helps!

There was another small beach same distance as Turtle beach called Adam and Eve which was just as beautiful, we visited it one day and enjoyed some rays. I remember having great fun in the sea here, lots of giggles lol, shame about the annoying Germans and I am not saying they were annoying because they were German they just were reallllyyy annoying. Anyway we had our end of the cove and they had theirs so it was all good in Adam and Eve land hehe.

I am laughing even before I start to tell you all about this one, Mark and I decided to go turtle diving. We wanted to swim with the giant green turtles of the perinthians
Bee HiveBee HiveBee Hive

Lovely Honey (Unny!!)
so that is what we were gonna do. We hired a man and his boat and headed out to Turtle point, the local hang out place for turtles. We were lucky to have the boat all to ourselves, It was about a 20 minute boat ride, beautiful sunshine and sprays of ocean, it was a great ride. Our boats man then turned into our divesman, fire dipping his head into the water upside down with a moving boat hunting for turtles and then jumping of the boat with his snorkel holding onto a rope incase we hijacked the boat hunting for more turtles. He was funny, even on lookers were laughing at him. We must have been there a good 20 minutes before we saw any turtle action but as soon as it was up it was down again. This continued for another 15 minutes and then he sarted to make us jump off the boat as quick as we could and dive down to chase them. There was no way of catching them, they were so fast. Mark and I were just doing what the guy had told us not really seeing what we were supposed to be chasing.
BeesBeesBees

No stings
The water was very murking that day too so visability was limited. I just remember Mark and I diving off the boat as quick as we could in a paddling frenzy, trying to place our masks, snorkels and flippers on, it was a funny sight.

The guy was adement that we were going to swim with the turtles as it was the policy that we received a full refund if we had not seen one. We did see one right at the start for a split second so we gave him that one otherwise we would of been there all night. We did some snorkeling on the way back, I only did a little as the boatsman said there were bigger sharks at this point so I was happy chilling on the boat. On the way back to our Lagoon Mark decided he wanted to drive the boat, haha still got the video Mark enjoying driving his boat big smiles all round.

One morning while on the island we rolled out of bed, slipped into some shorts, walked down the steps onto the white sand and found a space to squat a spot and watch the sunrise. I actually dont think I have been anywhere so quiet, apart from the waves not even nature was vocal that morning. The sun casually appearred, we then crept back up the stairs to our room without words and went back to sleep before deciding to join the world for another gorgeous day.

There was always gonna be a time where we had to leave this part of the world and it was always gonna be the case that we didnt really want to go. The days had caught up with us and it was our last morning on D'Lagoon and what a great one. Breakfast, morning at the beach and a lovely snooze in a hammock, thanks Mark for taking the swinging tree chair, that snooze was truly memerable, hehe and what a great end on D'Lagoon the golden sunrise on a golden beach with the morning sea breeze gently caressing our faces makes the start of any new day pleasently memerable.

It was also our last stop in Malaysia, Mark and I truly left a piece of ourselves there, we fell in love with it all. Good bye Malaysia your truly loved! xxx

You may had heard
D'Lagoon D'Lagoon D'Lagoon

Welcome to Adam + Eve beach
me talk alot about travel days, well this was our biggest travel day yet, 26hours non stop - 5 buses, 4 boats and a scooter taxi passing through- Kuala Busat - Pasir Putch - Butterworth (no trains) so... - bus to Hat Yai - Trang - 2 chain ferries and finally Ko Lanta!

Walked up the beach in the mega 40 degree heat at 4pm in the afternoon with backpacks and all, looking for a place to stay. Stopped at the 3rd beach side beach huts after the last 2 places were full. The 3rd place was also full but the barman was so nice he took our bags and gave us a beer before recommending the full moon guest house next door.

After a good chin wag, a cooling down period and re - energising with 2 beers we headed up the beach to see if they had room and thank god they did. After going back to the other guest house to collect our bags, I mean after Mark going back to the previous guesthouse to collect our bags (thanks) it was shower and dinner by the sea and then time for a well earned sleep,
Beach time!Beach time!Beach time!

Fun times!
or did we get drunk at the bar that night and play pool and jenga ? haha.

The next morning I had the oppotunity to take in how lovely the full moon beach huts were, we had a really nice detached bungalow with our own balcony and little garden. A pool over looking the beach and a great thai food menu with beach view dining, what a find! it was worth the 26hr trip from Malaysia back into Southern Thailand on the beautiful island of Ko-Lanta.

Born to ride!! ride to die!! lol, we got us some bikes and travelled the island, first stop being to the Gypsy village, short trip. They were really poor and I felt bad being there so we turned the bikes around and left, very brief visit! The Island was not that big so it was not difficult seeing most the island in a day or two.

We were told of an elephant that had recently had her baby on the island so we left to check it out. As we were driving I shouted to Mark to pull over, A elephant with her baby! we fed mum some fruit, so cute.

There was one end of the island we really liked visiting a really good ride, quant little streets with little shops and beauty parlours where we both had some treatments. I just remembered our random stop at the jewellary makers house. Enjoyed a cold drink and his little garden of prettiness where he played chill out for us, nice.

When stopping for my Milo on ice after another leisurely bike ride we saw 99' Bamboo Tattoo, it was closed so we decided to visit it the next day which is when I met Kien. He was happy to cover my old tattoo with my chosen Lotus flower design using natural Bamboo, I was so excited as back in the UK I was told my tattoo could not be changed. I chose a lotus flower as it represents my trip through Asia. A red Lotus signifies the original nature and purity of the heart. It is the lotus of love, compassion, passion and all other qualities of the heart. In the classical written and oral literature of many Asian cultures the lotus is presented, representing elegance, beauty, perfection, purity and grace.

I left Kien to design my tattoo and booked to have it done a few days later. I had no idea how a bamboo tattoo would go but I was about to find out.Mark was pretty good at holding my hand for this! thank you! It actually was ok though, it did not hurt much at all. It healed in less than a week and I absolutely love it!

Mark and I fancied having a nice dinner as we were missing the whole dining experience so we took a drive to find a good spot to eat for our evening out. We found a sign for stone baked pizza so we dicided to head back there later. Pizza was a novelty as we have lived of the local cuzine for so long and I was hungrey as always!

It was a home run restaurant literally, we had dinner in their garden on the beach, candle light, stone ovened pizza and german beer in big glasses! It actually was the best pizza ever! this evening makes me smile, alot, it was lovely and worth smashing the budget for.

I really enjoyed staying in Ko Lanta, beach side massage, our own pool to play around in and no Mark you really did not look like you were walking on water!! haha. I loved the high rised straw canopy looking out to sea, shame the rain was just a little bit too heavy, sounded so cool! I love the sound of the rain, especially with a view like that!

Beating Marks arse at Jenga was good fun too !!!

Ko Lanta has to be one of my favourites of the Thai Islands, it is just chilled and pleasant, I am glad we went and apart from getting pushed off the road, luckily not when we were riding the cliff edge I really enjoyed the bike rides, I did not want to give my bike back.

Next stop Koh Phi Phi and my 30th Birthday was fast approaching!

It was only a boat ride away passing Koh Phi Phi Leh on the way. Mark had stayed here at the beginning of his trip to do his diving cert so we headed to the Harmony guest house where he stayed before. All I remember is the room being so hot and baby cockroches visiting in the vents in the bathroom but it was ok they
Private beach for twoPrivate beach for twoPrivate beach for two

Sod Adam + Eve this is all ours!!!
couldnt get it, I use to squash them dead whilst in the shower! haha!


Ko Phi Phi was a fun 5 days, got far to drunk on buckets, I blame the Ibiza bar with their fire show, free limbo and rope jumping, why! I was seriously sick it was a passing out with puck bucket night, ow well least I saw out the last of my twenties in style, not! I really suffered I was convinced I was spiked with something!? it was my 30th Birthday 2 days later and I had a great day chilling on the beach with fresh coconuts, fizzy coke on ice with a straw! talking birds and many enjoyable paddling moments in the sea. Went to a fish restaurant for my Bithday and had fresh Barracuda, so good! finished my night off with a munch on my birthday pressie, Toffeeffee"s! a read of my book and a good nights sleep. Visited the view point, remebering the stairs and the attacking monkies! and even though it was a bit of a hike the view was wicked. Phi Phi is a beautiful island. Mark was telling me all about the Tsunami back in 2004 and
Great spot Great spot Great spot

Away from the sharks!
how people ran for their lives up to the view point from the beach, must of been really scary.

Mark and I found the locals food tents and dined with them for breakie and dinner, it was really good food for a pinch of the cost all the tourists were spending, haha! I think they started to really like us there by the end of the week, cute little lady.

I enjoyed Phi Phi but didnt really want to stay any longer than we had, loved chilling in our local book shop and apart from not seeing Mark trying to eat the biggest burger ever for a free meal I had fullfilled my visit.

We grabbed a boat to Ao Nang (Krabi) where I had spent some time at the beginning of the year. So different to what I remembered, it is amazing how you grow and see things in a different light when you have learned, travelled and seen so much more. We found a cheap place to stay, mosquito alert! we had to kill so many before relaxing in the room. On the first night I took Mark to the Chang bar for a few
Monitor lizardsMonitor lizardsMonitor lizards

They were every where
games of connect four, I won again! on our first night our T.V broke, passed out anyway was so tierd! The next day we went for a walk along the beach and found a bar at the end of the strip for a nice cold beer in the sun. We decided to have a dip in the sea so walked onto the beach where a boy was getting carried out of a boat, he had past out hope he was ok! It was a hot day so after showing Mark the lying down Budda and a quick dip in the choppy sea we headed back for a stroll round the shops. Later on we had found some local food stolls where we grabbed some dinner. We had already decided to move on the next day, Mark and I renamed Krabi as Krappy Krabi hehe!

We felt like we needed to hibernate for a few days and to plan the next and final destination to Bangkok. We knew our time was coming to an end and we needed to work out our next trips. We looked at our map and decided to choose Chumphon, half way house between Krabi and
Stroll to the beachStroll to the beachStroll to the beach

Pretty scary after sunset
an over night train away into Bangkok.

We found the Chumphon Suda Guest house and Sri Chumhon hotel. The halls in this guest house was like a old mental hospital, really eerie. Did you really knock on that door or was you just posing!? haha drunken silliness!

We found a cool cafe across the road that served good food, beer and allowed us to hang all day, free wifi! it was a helpful place a good spot to organise our onward travels. This was where Mark and I heard about the demonstations in Bangkok and we were gonna land ourselves right in the middle of it. We did think about heading somewhere else but decided to risk it. Mark booked his flight back to the UK and I finalised my plans to head to the North. These last few days were catch ups, days you really need when your on the move all the time, washing got done transport was booked for Bangkok, a few more catch up sleeps later and we were on the sleeper train to Bangkok.

I love sleeper trains, Mark and I were in seperate carriages as tickets were limited. When the morning
Our roomOur roomOur room

Parrott fish, parrott fish! lol
fell I walked down to Marks carriage to see how his first experience on a sleeper went, I think he liked it. Mark grabbed his bags and joined me in my carriage once the beds were away and we enjoyed the last hour of our jorney into Bangkok. Mark and I were not even thinknig and jumped into a Tuk Tuk to take us to Ko San Road. All in the open right through the demonstration site, burnt out cars, motorbikes and red shirts everywhere! we got there alive luckily, Ko San was blocked off so we had to walk down to the Ko San Place Inn. It was like a ghost town, really strange considering this is usually one of the busiest and popular roads in Bangkok, what were we doing again, we were landing and everyone else was fleeing?

Our room had a view right over the street and the next morning we woke up to the Songkran festival. Basically a huge public water + flour fight for 3 days straight and there was finally people appearing. Today we did not want to join in and silly us thought we could go out without getting invovled in the antics, how wrong were we. This festival was everywhere, kids on the streets with hoses, passing cars and bikes fully charged with water guns, even the Tuk Tuk driver's were invovled. We were on our way to visit Jim Thompsons House, a really cool visit considering we were soaked through, Mark was amuzing a big kid when he doesnt want to get wet, haha! by the time we got back to Ko San Road and the initial shock of the festival had sunk in. We chucked our swimmers on under our singlets, slung my wet pack on my back and went out to purchase ourselves some mean arse water guns and some beer! We had such a great time. A water fight with all passers by, joined a team for a while and battered anyone wearing a hat!!!

We were fighting and playing for hours, was pretty drunk as I recall at one stage we were dancing in the street singing Thai songs getting given beer from some Thai chicks that just wanted us to drink for free, happy days! 'I love you and you love me lalala!!!' And we had it all to do again tomorrow.

I will never forget laughing so hard over these few days, the festival blew away all the negativity of the political nightmere of Thailands current nation and made everyone smile out loud. I really felt what it is like just to live in one moment of time with your mind truly not thinking of anything else but the now and the shared special moments, and when you have moments like that, the ones you look back on that genuinely make you smile those moments last forever.

A few more days left in Bangkok and Tom and Carolyn arrived as they were heading back to the UK after some shopping at the weekend market so it was good to hook up with them for a bit. Our last night in Bangkok and we headed out for a curry, our fav and it was really good! A lovely last evening.

As I said my goodbyes not only to Bangkok but also to Mark in Koh San road, it was a pretty emotional moment. I had enjoyed our month of seeing the best part of the world that I had learned from and grown to love so far and I wouldnt
Clean upClean upClean up

Turtle beach
of done it any other way. No regrets.

Even though sometimes you do not ask for one or even wish for one, life can force you into a new beginning, so here's to mine x
























Additional photos below
Photos: 62, Displayed: 46


Advertisement

2 boats later2 boats later
2 boats later

Its amazing what gets washed up
Beautiful timesBeautiful times
Beautiful times

peace with sunsets and hope with sunrise x
SunriseSunrise
Sunrise

Dreamy
Moon after sunsetMoon after sunset
Moon after sunset

On Turtle island, dark walk back


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb