Borneo


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak
May 24th 2010
Published: June 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to kuchingWelcome to kuchingWelcome to kuching

Night time stroll
I spent some time in the executive lounge in Kuta airport before boarding my flight, it was only 10.00$ and it was the only place with internet not to mention the unlimited supply of food and beer.

I arrived in Sarawak, Kuching around 10pm. I had a free transfer from the airport to my hostel, he was a nice man very talkative. his cab was filled with cuddlely toys and pictures set amongst his fury dash board, it was like his own little home, he loved squeezing his teddies as they would say "I love you" in a squeaky voice, he thought it was funny even on the 10th time! I wasnt sure if I was in a cab with a crazy man but if I was he was a nice crazy man so it was ok.

My hostel was lovely, better than some, I was booked in a 4 mixed dorm but it was low season so I managed to get a room all to myself for the same price, I slept well.

My first day in Kuching, what to do? I decided to check out my surroundings and visit a few museums. It was very quiet considering it was the state's capital, it was low season so I suppose it was quite nice to view the city without the usual stream of tourists. I took a walk along the riverfront, there were cat statues all around, I later found out that Kuching means cat in Malay so it all began to make sense. I was doing pretty well navagating through the back streets, I did however get lost for an hour or so but I found my way back eventually, with sun burn!

I wanted to head out for dinner and had met a girl called Amy after returning from my day out so I invited her to come along, I didnt think I could meet anyone that can talk more than me! she was nice though, grabbed some street food along the river front which was served by a ladyboy and then went for a few beers and got bitten alive by mosquito's.

My second day in Kuching and it was hot hot hot, I had spoken to Mark via email and was aware he was arriving today and as he had flown all this way to see me I decided to meet with him. Very hard considering the circumstances but I didnt want this to disrupt my trip so I just concentrated on where I was and the exciting things to come, I had a feeling Borneo was going to be a challenge and I was not wrong!

That afternoon we visited Bako National Park, it is famous for it's wildlife, including long tail macaques, bearded pigs and the proboscis monkey. after a short boat ride with scenery to die for we started to follow one of the nature trails. Soon after we realised we had come a little unprepared, walking become a little bit more like climbing and in the heat with just flip flops, shorts and singlets I didnt really feel ready for the walk, did I mention we were also running low of water. A couple past us all kitted out with hiking gear, we were ok though, managed a few Kilometers with only a few accidental slips along the way. The boat taxi had said he would pick us up on the beach at 4.30pm, we thought we had missed the boat back and was wondering wether we were going to have to spend the night on
Bako Nature trail in flip flopsBako Nature trail in flip flopsBako Nature trail in flip flops

I was not exagerating
the beach with the crabs, the boat finally turned up at around 5pm, a little sye of relief.

It was orangutan day! I was told by Joanne, my guide from my first two weeks in Southern Thailand and Peninsular Malaysia that this was the best place to see the orangutans as it was less commercial, many more self dependent orangutans here living in their natural habitat. It was fruit season though and I was told that they had not seen any orangutans for 2 months as they have enough food to live off in the jungle so they do not visit feeding platforms. I decided to tempt fate and arranged a guide to take us there anyway, I had to try.

As soon as we arrived our guide said we were very lucky and knew straight away that there were sightings of the orangutans as the guide from the park was preparing the visitors that were already there. There was only a small group of us so we had a good chance to see them without a herd of people getting in our way. We headed to the fruit gardens and there they were, we were so close. They were swinging from the trees above our heads, jumping down and walking in our path, I could not beleive I was so close we could touch them, I didnt of course. One guy had his shoes taken which was an amusing moment! As we were sitting there watching them feed I almost cried, I had waited to be there in that moment for so long and I was taken away by how special it was and I felt even more special that they had come out of the jungle after 2 months with no sightings just for me! well I would like to think so anyway. My favourite was Salina, I called her name and she looked striaght at me for a picture oppotunity, she was a little bit of a show off!

I had been in Borneo only a few days and I was already content, we had a few drinks that night and with a hang over apon us the next day we missed our boat to Sibu so we flow instead.

Sibu was small but fun to walk around, visited Tua Pek Kong Temple, enjoyed some pineapple fritters in the local market and finished it off with a few beers in the park. The night guard came to talk with us, he only knew a few words of English but seemed to enjoy talking to us as there isnt many westerners that seem to visit there, espeacially at this time of year.

The next day after breakie and grabbing tickets we boarded a boat down the Rejang River to Kapit, it was scary trying to board as there was not much to hold onto and with our backpacks weighing us down it was pretty hard not to fall backwards into the river. It was a small boat with no outdoors, the windows were high so you had to stretch up to see outside but once you did it was pretty passing the local villages along the way.

Once visiting a few hostels we settled in the third one, Mark didnt mention the cockrouches crueling around, I found out the next day when he started hitting them with his flip flop, I thought I heard him banging around in the bathroom the night before, in a way I am really glad he didnt tell me. I really enjoyed Kapit even though everything was
Mother and her babyMother and her babyMother and her baby

Wow! this was an amazing moment x
closed as we had landed there during a public holiday I had fun here. We visited Fort Sylvia and then tried the Museum but that was closed. Visited a water garden that had floating lotus flowers and cute wooden bridges, the bridges were a little old and didnt seem to want to take our weight so we backed up and decided to walk round, it was a nice place, looked like the local chill out for the local kids.

Visited the food market, lucky we had picked up some Malaysian so we could order something we knew to eat, no one spoke English, I loved it like that it made it more fun!

As we were sitting enjoying our dinner I was looking around and heard a thump, I looked back at Mark to find him how can I say looking pretty shocked. He said something had flown into his hand, we looked down to see some large black thing on the floor. Then a cat come along and bit into it, the thing started to scream, it was so loud the tables near by looked stunned, It gives me the shivers even now.

After the food market we visited the chinese temple, we thought it was closed but a guard let us in. He gave us a key to go to the top, the temple had 7 floors. Each floor went round in a circle and had different ornements and furniture. When we got to the top there was a nice view over the town with chinese lantarns all around. The pretty view was soon obscured by dead swollows hanging from the wire mesh on the ceiling and then there was a bug that we saw previously at the market but 10 times bigger! This is when we named it the Mega Bug, it was about 6 inchs long and when it flew you could hear its wings flapping, we both ran, I was more scared because Mark was also freaking out. As we were leaving we came across a man sitting in a chair, he didnt follow us up and we had to unlock the door to reach the top level, it was a mistery on how he got there but we were not hanging around to find out with the Mega Bug flying about so we decided to lock him in and left.
Meet SalinaMeet SalinaMeet Salina

She was my favourite
Still not sure how he got there? I hope he had a key to let himself out?

When we got back to the hotel that night there was another Mega Bug in the hotel corridor it chased us down to our room, Mark was absolutely shitting himself, I am still laughing at his face now. When I got back in the room I stuck a towel under the door so they could not get in, that was before I knew I was sleeping with dozens of cockrouches! I said I liked Kapit and I did but it was here I was introduced to insects of Borneo and I knew this was just the start.

The plan was to head to Belaga from Kapit, this proved difficult, we knew we needed a permit but when we eventually found out where we got one from the office was going to be closed for another 3 days due to the public holiday. Kapit is not the place you want to hang around in for 3 days and as Belaga was just a small town and was only going to be a short visit we decided to get a boat back to
CuteCuteCute

Mother and her baby x
Sibu and fly to Miri from there. We met a couple over noodle soup breakfast and they were thinking of heading to Belaga without a permit. They were going to try and give the police money to let them through. We were told that you would be arrested and placed in jail if you didnt have a permit, this was the last place you would want to be tempting police with payoff's, good luck I say (idiots).

The boat back to Sibu was interesting, there was a casulty on a stretcher that did not look to well at all, there was no hospital in Kapit, I hoped there was one in Sibu. There was a TV playing a Malay Tsaunami film and they did their best with the English subtitles, some funny typo's.

We had a flight to Miri on the same day and arrived at the Palace Inn that evening, top floor again, only the best! That evening we had some local beers, there was a place on the corner near to where we were staying. They had made their own little restaurant on the street, they seemed to have set the tables up where ever they
Big MummaBig MummaBig Mumma

I think it was time for me to move!
felt like. the lady boy was a little on the large size and had a wiggle to die for, ow and I loved the pearl studded earings.

Miri was a bigger city than Sibu and Kapit and seemed like a cool place to hang out for a few days. Took a walk to the river front where I was bitten on the foot by my first ant, it really stings! Visited another chinese temple and a smelly fish market. We spent alot of time in Ming cafe, we liked it, good food and free wifi what more could you ask for. I was craving a curry and had read about an Islamic restaurant so we checked it out. It wasnt the curry that your usually use to but it was ok and we were introduced to Roti's yummy. We had a bit of entertainment from the karaoke bar next door to us, they love it out here! By the way a restuarant out here is a few plastic chairs and a table on the pavement, we thought we would splash out.

I needed some beach theropy so the next day after Mark's experience in the hairdressers we jumped
What a cool pic!What a cool pic!What a cool pic!

She just decided to stand up, maybe she was copying us?
on a number 13 bus, the local bus to Hawaii and Briton beach. The bus ride was fun, school had finished, I have never seen so many kids squeezed on one bus before they were practically sitting on our laps. We eventually found Hawaii beach, it was a beach that backed off from the local's houses. We had the whole beach to ourselves apart from a couple of local boys and a few fisherman. It was so hot, there was a log on the beach burning lit by the hot sun. I was enjoying my time in the sea until something with teeth bit my little finger, I have never ran out the sea so fast. What is it with me and biting fish!

Waited for the bus back for over an hour, they do not have timetables out here, had a little sing along. We waited for a bus for nearly 2hrs in Kuching and gave up and jumped in a cab. The bus did come just in time to get to Briton beach, to grab a few beers and some satay chicken and watch the sunset. It doesnt matter how many sunsets I see thier all just
Man of the forestMan of the forestMan of the forest

Their genes are 96.4% near to human, Orang means man and Utan means forest in Malay. "Man of the forest". When watching them I could see why.
as unique and just as beautiful.

A local women phoned a cab for us on her mobile as the buses had stopped running, it was our last dinner in the Ming cafe as tomorrow we were heading to Muulluu!

It was an early flight to Mulu, I loved the small little MAS planes espeacially when they give you Milo on the flight, Miloo so addicted, if they just acompained it with a pack of mento's rainbow I would of been sorted. After a short transfer to Gunung Mulu National Park we booked into the rainforest room called Enkabary which is named after a tree. The park is home to the world's most impressive caves, untouched rainforest and the famous Bat Exodus, I was so excited, again. After a walk through the rainforest and our guide teaching us a few things on how to survive in the jungle and what interesting things you can find there we headed to visit the Deer cave and Langs cave. We asked the guide on the way what the hummimg was in the trees, it always sounded so pretty, this was when we found out the identity of the Mega Bug, they were
drinks all rounddrinks all rounddrinks all round

What a hangover!
named Cicarda's and they live in the trees, I dont think that the sound of the jungle is so pretty anymore.

The Deer Cave has the worlds largest passage, over 2km. It was pitch black inside and filled with millions of bats, I knew we had to have a good shower later because there was bat poo everywhere and by the time we left the cave we had it all in our hair, on our arms and legs, so grose! The Langs cave was filled with beautiful limestone formations. These caves were amasing to see the photo's I have do not even bring them justice. As the sun was setting we went to the viewing area where you can observe the giant mouth of Deer Cave from which millions of bats fly out to feed on jungle insects, it was so cool! Had a 3km walk back to camp in the pitch black after with only our touches to stop us falling of the wooden blank, looking back now I wish I had taken it in more, it was great fun to do. Ordered some pancakes after dinner took over an hour to come but they were good, a
Plane to sibuPlane to sibuPlane to sibu

I am a fan of MAS airlines, I especially enjoy their saftey video
great night cap.

Took a little boat trip the next day down stream to visit Clear Water Cave and Wind cave, they are just as beautiful and come with their own enchanting tales. We went swimming in a cool pool which was freezing but lovely as it was a really hot day, Mark had trouble swimming in the deep end, he only just stayed afloat for a photo, he he. When heading back the boat got caught on the bottom of the river, it was dry season and the water was to low. There were 6 of us in the boat, Mark and another guy along with our paddle man got out to push. I was laughing so much I was nearly crying, I was humming "I Need A Hero" Mark was not finding it very funny which made me laugh at him even more, he hates being laughed at, he he!

After heading back it was near the end of our time in Mulu, we packed and headed to the airport where we boarded a plan back to Miri and then jumped on a connecting flight to Kota Kinabalu, this is where we said goodbye to Sarawak, we were entering Sabah.

Kota Kinabalu (KK) was going to be a few days stop, I needed to catch up on washing, itineraries etc! and I remember being a little run down when we got there. After a few stops we checked into Summer Lodge and once settled in the room we soon realised we had our own karoke outside our window, luckily it finished at around 12ish, it was pretty fun to sing along though even if they did play the same every night. The first evening we wanted to find some local food so we walked a little until we found a chinese restaurant which served claypot, It was so good pork noodle soup with tones of pak choi yummy!!! This is where I learned about the dumpling soup, we had this for breakfast the next day, absolutley splendid!

The next day we decided to walk to Sabah museum quote " I do love a good museum". It was a cool musuem however the walk was far from short, you know when you look at a map and it never seems that far, well this was one of those occasions.

Kota Kinabalu is a good
Hawaii beachHawaii beachHawaii beach

All mine
place to visit but there is not much to do unless your planning to do some diving or climb Mt Kinabalu. I really wanted to do the climb but the time thing was an issue and I had seen a few travellers struggling up the stairs after their 2 day stint so I decided to give it a miss, we just drove past it instead and took a picture on our way to Ranau, Poring. In a way I wish I had done it, it was on my list of things I wanted to do, I have made a promise to myself that I will go back and climb it one day.

After the bus ride to Ranau we called our accomadation for a pick up, we had a homestay arranged in Poring for a few days. Alexis introduced himself and we hoped in his jeep for a 20 minute drive to his village. I really did not know what to expect so I was heading there with a little anticipation. When we arrived we were soon shown our room and introduced to his family. His Mum and sister were in the kitchen when we arrived. It was really
Hawaii BeachHawaii BeachHawaii Beach

All mine!
nice staying somewhere that wasnt a hostel or a bus or a train, it was a real home. I must say it felt a little funny at first sitting in their living room knowing you were paying them to stay in their house. Alexis soon broke the ice by going outside to cut a few fresh coconuts down from his tree in the garden for us, warm but fresh!

Alexis explained that he would not be around during our stay as he had to work in KK but said he was going to drive us to the hot springs for a bath later before he left and take us to see the Rafflesia flower the biggest flower in the world. After some food and watching a movie we went down to the football grounds with Alexis to watch him play football. We played with the local kids for a few hours, I just remember having so much fun on this afternoon, they all really made me smile, they were great kids, I think they liked us too, this was truly a happy moment of mine.

We were pretty lucky as Alexis's Dad worked at the hot springs so they let us in whilst it was closed to have a free bath, it was pitch black but it was a cool experience. We knew we were returning tomorrow for the day anyway so we would have a good look around then. We had dinner that night with other guests that seem to know the family quite well, Alexis had left for work but his Mum, Dad and sister were there. Even though we had already been fed once already they all insisted for us to join them again for more food. We said grace and everyone started to tuck in to the food that was on offer, it is custom to eat on the floor in Asia. They were very impressed by Mark's chilli eating skills, it was then they invited us to church in the morning, it was sure to be something we could fit in before heading to the springs, or so we thought.

Church was an experience, there is no time scale here which we learned pretty quickly. As we arrived at the church everyone was eager to talk with us, we were like celebrities in the village, they do not get many visitors. The
Sunset at Briton beachSunset at Briton beachSunset at Briton beach

Umm the best chicken satay
last entry in the guest book back at the house was almost a year gone since the last guest entry. when sitting in the church waiting for things to start it was obvious we were centre of attention. One of the women gave me a shaul as a gift, she said that everytime I wore it I could remember them, then one of the kids that I had played with the day before came over and gave me a letter. It had stories written in English, wether it was her homework that she had stored or wether she wrote it especially for me I was touched either way. The first words from the Priest when we finally got started was a very big welcome to myself and Mark, they were so grateful that we joined them and that we came to stay, we didnt know where to look, to be honest I was too shocked at their kindness to be embarrassed, us being there truly made their day and I felt really good about that so I lapt it up. After a lot of singing, clapping of hands and over 3 hours of service it was over and just as we thought we could leave they insisted we went to the Priests house for lunch, only a selective few were invited so we could not turn them down.

We finally got dropped off at the hot springs around 3pm, we didnt really need much time there anyway, we had a walk round the orchid garden and went on the canopy walk where I was nearly arrested for taking an illegal picture, dont ask! when leaving the springs it started to rain heavily, we got picked up by Alexis's Dad and was taken back to the house. The village was opening their new restaurant and invited us for dinner that night. It was still raining pretty heavy, the restaurant was outside the church which was not to far from the house. when we got there they had two fires burning with bubbling pots on them. Their restaurant was a little wooden hut with around 3 tables inside and a little kitchen at the back. As their was not enough room for all of us and the rain didnt seem to be slowing we had dinner in the church. They had set up a table in the centre with a pink table cloth and a flower with two chairs, especially for us. Everyone sat on the floor and watched us eat, they really were treating us like royalty, at this point the laughter kicked in, it was pretty funny looking back.

When we got back to the house we enjoyed a hot Milo whilst listening to the rats running around the ceiling they sounded pretty big. We asked Alexis's sister if they ever come down she said quite casually "yeh at night they like to go to the kitchen, you see them when you go to the toilet at dark" I so hoped I didnt need the toilet during the night. I did though didnt I, I went down stairs with my touch determind to make this the quickest toilet run in history. The toilet was at the back of the kitchen and I managed to get there without a hitch. I sat on the toilet and shut the door, that was it a rat ran over my foot, I lifted my feet up high off the floor. I remember saying to myself 'it's ok it's ok, dont panic', but it was too big not to panic. before I knew it I had leaped off the toilet running into the kitchen screaming with my trousers still at my ankles, I placed my hand over my own mouth as I knew I had screamed too loud. As my torch shone around the kitchen and trying to pull my trousers up, there were at least another 3 running at me, I was screaming but I also was laughing at myself, I must of looked so funny. Luckily I had not woken anyone.

We left the village that morning with some great memories, I was so glad I stayed here, it is a real community, they see the importance in life and they thrive in it, I almost left feeling a little envious of the way they enjoy having the simple things not scorned by the shallow, materialistic greed that has spread across wealthier countries. They really made me feel special and smile from the inside and reminded me to be grateful for having such a great big loving family like my own.

We were greeted by a very strange Mr Lum when arriving at our May Fair hotel in Sandakan, the guide book discribed him as a Gruff but helpful
Me in MuluMe in MuluMe in Mulu

Ready to go!
owner, I would say that was pretty fair. We knew this hotel was known for it's movie collection and flat screen's which we were going to take full advantage of that night. It sounds like we were staying in a real plush place but trust me we were not. That afternoon we visited Angnes Keith house, she was an American that came to Sandakan in the 1930's, she wrote a few books on her experience and became a famous author, it was really interesting and a great house. Next door they had a gorgeous English tea garden that served high tea. We enjoyed cream scones and tea, the view over the hill was beautiful. There was a peacock in a cage behind us that didnt really look very well, poor thing.

We headed to Sepilok orangutan Rehabilitation Centre the next day before joining famous Uncle Tan's for our 3 day jungle safari, it isnt famous really but it should be. Sepilok was a bit of a dissapointment to be honest, very touristy, minimual sightings except for the annoying long tailed macaques and the platforms were a fair distance from the viewing areas. I was so grateful to Joanne for passing on her know how and for seeing them in Kuching. Uncle Tan's here we come!

Uncle Tan's is a Kinabatangan jungle camp and is a great place to experience and see some of what the jungle has to offer, especially with such a great group of people. We had a very bumpy ride to the river bank but when we arrived we hopped in our boats and headed down stream to Uncle Tan's camp. When heading down stream we stopped and got out the boat to get a closer look at a orangutang, as we entered a little into the bushes their it was resting in the tree. The scenery again was pituresque so much to look at and observe in the water, in the trees, in the sky, you were spoilt for choice.

When we arrived at camp we were shown to our sleeping area, I am not going to say room because there was'nt one. We had a wooden hut with 3 sides no door and 3 double mattresses for 6 people to share. So glad to see the mosquito nets though. We met a really nice couple Mike and Jules who were next to us, Jules was a little scared of the creepy crulies so it didnt help when I told her I just spotted a rat running across one of the beams.

After spraying ourselves with plenty of mozi repellent we all went to the breifing area where we were told about the up and coming activities and what to expect to see during the safari's. It was very unlikely because of the time of year but I really wanted to see pigmy elephants, they look so cute. What ever wildlife we saw it was going to be just as much fun tracking them down as it will be finding them. We were going to have some dinner before our night safari, the food was fantsatic, they prepared and cooked it in their floating kitchen on the river. It was a help yourself buffet " If you are shy you will die", we all tucked in I was starving!

Wow! as we boarded the boat and headed down stream with only the torch on the end of the boat to guide us, you looked up to view a beautiful blanket of stars, I have never seen them so bright not even in the dessert in Dubai, it felt like time had stood still just for a minute, everything seem to stop moving and making noise just so we could enjoy and take them in. As we moved further down river we spotted some bearded pigs scarpering in the bushes. We had to be very quite not to make to much noise so we didnt scare the animals off before getting a chance to have a good look. Our guide was amasing, he spotted things from so far away, seeing a tiny frog on the bank in the pitch black. He could find animals by their eyes reflecting in the light. We had been pretty patient and hadnt seen anything for a while but then there it was a very big and very long crocodile bobbing on the surface, I made sure I had my arms safely in the boat. It was so cool to see and the guide said it was not often spotted especially one that size, I was well chuffed. On the way back we saw a sea owl sitting on a branch from a fallen tree that was sticking out of the water, it was really quite pretty.

When we got back to the camp we had a chat with the others to see what they had seen, apparently we were the lucky boat of the evening as they did not see much, everyone was extra jealous when we mentioned our crocodile sighting. After a few beers most of us headed to bed as we had a early morning safari the next day and wanted to be on top form to spot more exciting Borneo wildlife. That was before we realised we had the Irish a stone throw away. One of the couples had got engaged and they were all celebrating, the guitar was ok but I couldnt say much about their singing.

During our stay at Uncle Tan's we experienced more day safari's on the boat and by foot it was great fun. Saw loads of different birds and creapy crawlies. I had fun on the night walk, Mike had a hole in the back of his welly which I kept sticking a stick in, it was funny watching him thinking he had something in his boot. I had the giggles during this trek I had no idea why, in my own little amusing world again, in the dark in the jungle. That night we had a great dinner, the fisherman had caught a giant catfish that had been cooking for most the day on the spit, I was a very content little diner that night.

I so didnt want to leave Uncle Tan's we had such a wicked time, we were in our element, it is not every day you see the wildlife we did in one weekend from orangutans in the trees to crocodiles floating right near you in your boat. But again we knew we were heading for lets say more comfortable climates, our very own beach hut on the beautiful island of Palau Mabul and the great thing was Jules and Mike were heading there too, more fun all round. " Goodbye my lover, good bye my friend" was sung as we left camp, brilliant!

To get to Mabul we had to visit Semporna and after 2 bus rides that we shared with Jules and Mike we were there. We were to stay in Semporna for 1 night before heading to the island, we had'nt booked anything but you didnt need to, you always find somewhere. We had a
CaveCaveCave

Can you see the face?
little walk and a little bit of map read before finding Scuba Junkie who we had booked the diving with and the accommadation on Mabul Island, they also had room in their hostel for us too. I didnt enjoy my stay much though, it was shared showers and toilets which is usually fine but these were questionable. ants everywhere and peoples dirty nickers were hanging around, lovely. That evening we had a little walk round and grapped some food in the only decent restaurant they seem to have around. Jules and Mike strolled in after we had eaten and joined us for a beer, they were staying in the hotel opposite. We all decided to try and grab a few beers from the local shop but we found out later on that everything closed at 9pm in Semporna so it was an early night for all.

We just made the boat the next morning, we thought we had loads of time and then the time vanished, dont you hate it when time does that to you. On our way out to Mabul the sea was choppy, I seemed to have overcome my sea sickness during my travels it must be all the excitement or just the beautiful Island I could sea in the distance. Wooden piers with little huts surrounded by turquise waters, what more could you ask for. We had a great room, was pretty luxurious compared to what I was getting use to. As we walked down the pier to the rooms we saw a large green turtle, I have never seen a turtle so big before. We also saw a bright blue star fish, you could really see why this was a divers paradise, the snorkelling was going to be pretty hot too by the looks of it which was good for me because that is all I am brave enough to do.

Mark had his diving schedule and I had my beach theropy all mapped out, It was pretty hot most days so I hanged around the balcony reading or chatted to the others on the resort while Mark was off diving. They would come back for lunch and go off to do a second dive in the afternoon. It was fun listening to everyones experiences and looking through the fish book finding what they saw. It was starting to make me feel a little braver and consider an introductory dive off the pier but I was still pretty nervous. Mark came back in the afternoon enough time to come with me for a snorkel. We grapped some snorkels and flippers and had a good length of time in the water. I was ok as long as I didnt head out to sea, it was deep enough where we were and there was so much coral and fishies to see there was no need to go anywhere else. Cornett fish, Trumpet fish, Lion fish, Trigger fish and I can not forget the Nemo's. I even got a little braver near the end and got some pictures of the Lion fish on my own, you would of been proud Jaqueline Smith.

One evening we had got ourselves involved in a drinking game consisting of rum, a deck of cards, some dice, a mad man with a guiter and a crazy gardner. It was such a laugh we were all dancing having a great fun. Mark left me in the early hours as he had diving the next day, myself however had more rum to drink and there was definately more fun to be had. Luckily there is such a thing as a camera because apart from a very bad hangover and a vage memory of seeing a dog wondering around my room I couldnt really remember much of the night. The pictures that I mention were not taken by me they were Suzan's, she was my drinknig pal. If these pictures ever come out to members of the public I swear that it isnt me on the barmans shoulders.

After Marks diving the next day we had a nice walk around the island recovering from what seemed like the worst hangover ever, for me anyhow. It did not take us long to walk round the island, on the way back we decided to have a beer on the beach, we could'nt walk past the only beach bar on the island and not have a beer, hair of the dog and all.

There were Gypsies that lived on the Island they were fenced off to the Scuba Junkie resort however you were able to walk through their little village, they were welcoming and friendly. Trying to coax you to buy their pearl earrings and neckless. I bought some they were so cheap considering
More bats More bats More bats

Heading out to eat
they were real pearls even though everyone was irregular. I liked taking a walk through the gypsie village watching the kids play, as dusk came they would start their little fires and cook up their fish they had caught that day, some others would just be lying asleep on wooden planks outside their house shacks.

The piers on the island were beautiful we took a walk down the end one day past the little huts, they were so pretty, hanging flowers everywhere. There was a little shop at the end where we sat and ate ice cream.

We promised ourselves to have a quite night one evening and only go up to the bar for one drink, this did not happen, it was the biggest rum session to date. There were at least 3 rum sets bought at the bar which involved 9 bottles and me, Susan her partner and the gardner visited the gypsies for some more as the bar was shut and the gardner said he would take us for more if we didnt tell. It was all quite funny ducking under the fenching into the village half cut in the middle of the night in
Bat ExodusBat ExodusBat Exodus

So cool to watch
search of some more rum. It was a fun night, good sing alongs, good company, Mark was chewing on snuff yuk! and we were taught some new drinking games which is always handy andy. ow another hangover. Jules had gone to bed earlier but Mike stayed with us, I think he had the worst hangover.

The food on the Island was nice, I have to say that because we had become friends with the cheif. He made us laugh, getting really annoyed with the chinese. He said when they visit he has to order more food because there is never enough as they eat it all, especially the water melon, the funny thing is they really do, plates and plates of water melon.

I had another amasing time in Mabul even the hangovers were worth the laughs. It was great to spend time with Mike and Jules and experience some good snorkeling, I dont think there is a better place to snorkel. Mark enjoyed his diving and it even gave me something to consider, maybe I can dive? we will see. As I left the Island and boarded the boat I secretly laughed about Marks fall the other
Water CaveWater CaveWater Cave

Sooo Coold!
day but also synpathised on how much it must of hurt, hope that shoulder is on the mend! I also was so pleased I visited, another little chapter of my travels I will keep close.

I was heading back to Semporna that afternoon, decided to stay in the hotel Mike and Jules stayed in the Sipadan Inn as it was sure to have better and cleaner showers. We had some food at a local restuarant where a begging lady had that cupped hand again, " give me money" even for a begger that was rude. I shewed her away as Mark put it, i feel bad now. We were heading to Tawau airport the next day to fly to Kuala Lumpur, we nearly missed the plane which was quite funny, I never had this problem when I travelled alone. Mark was supposed to be heading home from here but the travelling bug had already ran through his veins.

It was our last night in Borneo, I was really sad to go, it was a part of my trip I was so excited to do and now Borneo had been travelled, I can never have that feeling of the unknown about it anymore. I travelled it well apart from my regret for not climbimg Kota Kinabalu, but I know me, I know I will return and do it one day. A month in Borneo seemed to go by so fast, Borneo was filled with so many different things, mountians, jungle, beach, it never let you down, it was truly unforgettable.





























Additional photos below
Photos: 88, Displayed: 50


Advertisement

Sunset with TigerSunset with Tiger
Sunset with Tiger

Just another enjoyable sunset
Mt KinabaluMt Kinabalu
Mt Kinabalu

The mountain I did'nt climb
Poring homestayPoring homestay
Poring homestay

Watching football
RafflesiaRafflesia
Rafflesia

Largest flower in the world


17th June 2010

hello
Hello you, Love your borneo piccies. So you did it your saw the organgutans and what better than in the wild like that too. Coolio about the snorkeling i am proud you photographed a lion fish all by your self and sounds like your getting used to the water. So when we going diving then ? Maybe oz if i get over or when you get back ? Also my name i spelt jaclyn ...not jaqueline !! How many years have you known me ha ha ....!!!! luv ya honey and me and hayl's are mssing you more than words can say. keep having fun ;) xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb