Kuala Lumpar (and Penang)


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
September 1st 2006
Published: September 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Petronas Towers, Kuala LumparPetronas Towers, Kuala LumparPetronas Towers, Kuala Lumpar

Night Shot of the famous twin towers
We've finally left Singapore, which was hard as its such a class place and pretty much the best place I'm gonna see to be honest, and headed for Kuala Lumpar, the capital of Malaysia, as usual the night train I couldn't sleep on it (Why can't I sleep properly on anything which isn't a bed!?!?!) so I accepted that I was gonna be a zombie for at least 6 hours when we could check into the hostel.
After Singapore which even by Western Standards is developed, I was a little apprehensive about what to expect from Malaysia. All the guide books say the water is safe to drink, which is always a good sign, crime is way below western standards (Why is our Country so violent and dangerous?) but its still relatively cheap to move around in. By 2020 Malaysia would like to meet all the standards set out for it to be considered to be a developed country so I thought it should be fine.
Having not seeing anything else of Malaysia so far and going just on Kuala Lumpar alone, I'd say Malaysia is well on the way to it 2020 aims.
Kuala Lumpar is a nice city, fairly
43rd Floor, Twin Towers43rd Floor, Twin Towers43rd Floor, Twin Towers

Just our luck that it pisses it down though.....
clean, it doesn't have the same feel as singapore but probably cause I fell in love with the place, but the place is clean, tidy, roads are fairly sane, the pavements are a bit dodgy, I went for a pisser on a couple of them, bits missing out of them and all sorts! There's malls to tempt me with trainers and t-shirts which always a bad sign and as with Singapore the food is fantastic, a mixture of Indian food in little india, (although having spent a month in 'big India' eating Indian food isn't really my cup of tea at the mo) Chinese and Malayan, all great.
The hostel is really relaxed and nice inside, there seems to be a few people who are staying there for a long time which is always a good sign.
First night we went to see the Petronas Towers, the largest twin towers in the world at the moment, since the destruction of the world trade centre. At night they are fantastic to look at and can be seen from pretty much anywhere in the centre of the city, We checked them out with the plan to go up to the 43rd floor
43rd Floor and me43rd Floor and me43rd Floor and me

Not really scared up here although the tour guide told us at this height the towers move by 10 inches in the wind!
the following day. Unfortunatly it rained on the second day we were there so all my pictures have rain drops on them, and the visability isn't that good. We also went up the KL tower on the night which was a great view as well. Both these structures are big but with so many other big buildings there, they don't dominate the skyline. The second night we were there at 12:00 was the start of the Malaysian independance day which is taken very seriously by the people. I suppose when you've been under rule by us idiots, you'd take your independance seriously too! There are flags everywhere and on the night everyone was on the street including a gang of about 50 kids on bmx's which went past, a couple had some interesting English words to shout at us, which I doubt they learnt in their English Lessons but again I suppose I can live with that.
From Kuala Lumpar the following day we headed to Penang as from here we are going to Langkawi by high speed ferry. Penang was meant to be good but having only one night to spend there and most things been closed as it
KL TowerKL TowerKL Tower

Other big building in KL
was a national holiday, it was a bit boring. The streets were empty, except for the usual prostitutes late at night and most shops were closed so we got some ferry tickets and drank all night until we had to go back to the hostel and get our gear in the morning. The Hostel was like a crack house and I wasn't sleeping on the matress, I got bitten to pieces and I only sat on it for about 5 minutes!! The prostitutes were funny as well, half of them had deeper voices than me!!!
Next stop is Langkawi for some serious R & R and some sun and beaches for the first time on my trip....


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Finally!!!Finally!!!
Finally!!!

After being in two countries previous to this, one where Spray cans are used as er.. spray cans to spray your car (India) and the other where you get the cane for vandalism (Singapore) I've finally seen some decent graffitti!
Thoughtful pose.....Thoughtful pose.....
Thoughtful pose.....

On way to Penang
Crossing the bridge to PenangCrossing the bridge to Penang
Crossing the bridge to Penang

The bridge is 4 miles long from Penang to the mainland, unfortunatley I was on the rubbish side of the coach, dave gets shots of islands, I get shots of a dirty port and Georgetown!
Only Meaningful shot in Penang...Only Meaningful shot in Penang...
Only Meaningful shot in Penang...

Its a metal thing!!! Dunno!!
A few Brews....A few Brews....
A few Brews....

Go back to the Hostel and sleep on the infested matress or drink until 6 in the morning? As my good friend ste would say, sleep when your dead!


4th September 2006

Hope
you're having a wicked time Stu. Im doing a couple of re-sits at Uni. So you can imaging the jealousy running through my body. Anyway Im going somewhere at the end of September with Lizzie so not long now. Still don't know where we are going though. Continue having a wicked time mate. All the best and up the Villa.
4th September 2006

A few Brews....
Love that comment.... You have learnt well my son, your training is complete.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb