The Local Man in KL


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
September 27th 2013
Published: November 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today was my flight to Kuala Lumpur. I booked into Hotel Sentral, a nice hotel to unwind and have a good nights sleep in a nice double, crisp white sheeted bed before my flight to Sri Lanka.

I wandered down the road to get some grub.

Here I was approached by a local man. I believe he was Indian in Ethnicity. It seemed he just wanted conversation so I said I was looking for somewhere to have dinner. He showed me a good local place and asked if he could join me. I did politely decline, however, for some reason that I can not remember, he ended up joining me. I ordered delicious chilli squid with steamed rice and he ordered the same but halfway through me eating (I found that odd). He asked me if I wanted to join him at kareoke, but again I declined his offer.

This man, who I obviously didn't know then advised me that I was to buy his dinner. Shocked at this statement he put forward, I bravely said I didn't think so and asked him why he thought this. He said now that we were in partnership (as in him joining me) it was tradition for the woman to pay! I was not willing to do this, so after a few minutes of silence between us I stood up and said goodbye, went and paid for MY dinner only and walked back to my hotel quickly.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1091s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb