May 7


Advertisement
Published: May 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, May 7:

I went shopping by myself on Petaling Street and got lost many times. Everyone thinks I am either Malaysian or Chinese, so it works out that I don't look that foreign. But, the moment I open my mouth, the first thing they say is, "Where are you from?"

Everything here is very fresh, cooked right in front of you. I ate some fresh tofu fa. Yummy...oh, and I tried this brown drink called Barumbak, or something like that, which had longans in it. It was very refreshing. They have a tendency to pack their drinks in plastic bags and tie up a little corner of the bag for your straw... I guess it would save money. There are a lot of stray, emancipated stray cats here, similar to Dubai. Poor little kitties; I would totally take them home if I knew they didn't carry diseases.

Oh, and I yelled at this vendor b/c he accused me of lying. Let me explain, some of the street vendors are very aggressive, and will hassle you until you come and look at their stuff. Well, this guy was like putting these DVDs in my face and I told him, look, I just saw some DVDs that were 3 for RM10. He was like, "No, you're lying, stop lying, you know it's not good to lie." Geez, he goes on and on...I ignore him, but it really bothers me, so I go back and tell him, "You shouldn't tell customers that they are liars; don't you ever accuse me of being a liar, I will tell everyone not to buy from you!" He comes running after me saying, "Okay, okay, I will give it to you 3 for RM10." I just ignored him. That's how the vendors work here. I will teach you how to bargain. I mean, I am new at this, but still, I have learned.

That's my exciting story for that day, oh and I also tried Rojak, a mix of spicy or tangy lime with fruit, a Malay version of fruit salad. It was very filling and that was dinner.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb