arrival


Advertisement
Published: May 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Arrival: May 6 at 2:15pm.

I arrive at the airport and drag my luggage into a taxi because no one picked me up. I go to the YMCA, where I find out that my host organization did not book me a room, so I call my contact, Ms. Juliana (her first name is Juliana, but they say Ms. in front). She told me that I was supposed to be at the YWCA. Great. . . okay, my taxi driver left and I had to get another taxi cab about 5 minutes away to another road. I shouldn't have packed so much, my luggage was so heavy!

This guy, Raymond realized that I was struggling with finding a place and offered to give me a ride, oh and find me a SIM card for my cell phone. I asked the front desk people if they knew him first and they said that he came for meetings. I thought, okay, he knows his way around and he looks clean shaven, hahaha, nooo...I didn't think even realize that he was. He was Tamil, hahaha, me and brown guys, what's up with that anyways?

So, he gives me a lift to find a SIM card, but my phone was blocked by Fido. (Note: I unblocked my phone yesterday through the internet via a code that I purchased for $5 on www.unblock123.com because Fido was going to charge me $250 to unblock my phone)Stupid phone company. Anyways, back to the story...Okay, so he takes me to the YWCA and he drops off all my luggage for me. I am paying 30 Malaysian Ringitts (slightly less than $10 Canadian) for my room, including a bread and butter breakfast, yummy...*cough *cough. So, I go into my room and see this huge ass beetle. I am so adamant about not staying there, but I have no where else to go. Okay, we go out for dinner at China Town on Petaling Street, only about 5 minutes from where I live at a Hakka stall and we eat some siu baos. After he drops me off at home and kisses me on the cheek and starts holding my hand, ahhhh....awkwardness...I wanted to say dude, I only have known you for 2 hours, but I mean, I was the one to jump in his car. I won't do that again. Although I have hitch hiked a couple of times in TO, once with 3 guys (okay, it was seriously cold and I was late for a Dignitas meeting). He leaves and he continues to call me and visit me, but I just make excuses not to go out with him. Everyone has freakin' scared me now about random strangers. I guess I shouldn't trust people so easily.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb