I wish I could fly (hoy solo en ingles)


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
April 29th 2006
Published: April 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It will seem to you that the only thing that I can do in this blog is to complain. Indulge me, please.
Kuala Lumpur is a city of contradictions as almost any other city in the world. It has a very useful monorail, underground, comprehensive bus service, the second tallest sky-scrapper, the Petronas Towers, as Ade puts it the first monument of love to Petrol. So how is it possible that a city with such modern standards can lack in the most obvious city planning design? I mean Traffic lights where our friends the green man and the red man can show us the way to go. Crossing roads is a nightmare, today e.g. a high speed bus blaring its horn almost takes out around 10 pedestrians crossing the road, Why? very simple, if you are a pedestrian in KL you have no chance of crossing the road, the city is full of cars, the traffic is impossible and you have to chance it. If you are lucky enough to find a crossing, you'll see the red man man constantly, you may have to wait around ten minutes for your chance to cross the road. Also you have got the Highway as they call it (motorway for the rest), this Highway crosses the city at some points and has got very high concrete walls, so that no traffic interferes with the flow and no risk of pedestrians either, will they build an overpass or an underpass for you to cross with having to walk for miles and miles? Simply NOT!!. Funnily enough is because of these Highways that we had a visit to a park a bit crushed. We asked in Tourism Information: How long will it take to walk to the park from Chinatown. She look at us all puzzled and informed us that you cannot walk to the park as there are Highways that you cannot cross. I am talking about the city of KL, not outside of it. That is way I say "I wish I could fly" would save a few headaches in KL.
Tomorrow we are finally flying to Indonesia after being trapped here for far too long, we tried to buy tickets with Air Asia through the internet, I don't know if you have ever come across the Visa Verification thingy , well the thing is set for security purposes and it is soooo secure that we were unable to buy the tickets. So we wasted a few days and had to buy tickets for the 1st of May ,Public Holiday in the whole wide world, as it was the cheapest option.
As I did say that I was going to complain, I will keep going for a bit. This time I will complain about myself. I hate packing my rucksack, I just hate the thing and cannot stand it anymore. Why are there some many fluctuations inside it? I mean I dump things and it never ever becomes lighter.Do you think that maybe my t-shirts are reproducing themselves inside it? I am lost, I have got no hope left. Everytime that we arrive somewhere new the bags (both of our bags) explode, our things are everywhere. I have got the theory that when they come out of the rucksack they expand and then it becomes a very tough time to fit them in the bag again. I normally think that I don't have much staff but it becomes obvious that I have lots at packing time. Today I dumped my sleeping bag, will I regret it? maybe, surely but a relief sign now occupies my entire forehead.




Advertisement



4th May 2006

Make sure to take a picture! When I was traveling with Antonia and Julia our bags used to explode the minute we got into our room. I took a picture of our room in Nha Trang. I can't help but laugh whenever I see it :)

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb