Made it to Malaysia


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
May 29th 2008
Published: June 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I made it to Malaysia, after 9 hours on a quite comfortable bus journey. The border wasn't too bad and was only an hour wait but was disappointed when i didn't get a Malaysia stamp in my passport but and a departed Singapore stamp, half an hour later on the bus however we had to get off and go into the customs office where we finally received a Malaysia stamp, where we were in the world in between these two places i have no idea, no other country appears on the map, it must be a secret place that only governments know about
So we arrived into kuala lumpur and headed towards Chinatown where all the cheap guesthouses are situated. from other backpackers and my little yellow bible aka the lonely planet, i have come to the conclusion that Kuala Lumpur is not good for budget guesthouses, while there are plenty to choose from they are not of a very good quality, however I was really lucky and came across a guesthouse that had only just opened 3 weeks ago and was lovely and cheap. To get to the room you have to walk through the petaling market, what should take 5 seconds usually takes 10 minutes trying to get through with all the people and stall holders shouting at you to look at whatever it is that they are selling. As i was struggling to get through, i had everyone yelling at me trying to sell me everything and everything I was polite just repeating Nothankyou, Nothankyou over and over until it sounded like my own personal language with my head focused on the floor, i know not to get involved with eye contact as they never let you escape, mama raised no fool. so i was nearly at the end when because i was so focused on the no eye contact rule i walked straight into one of the stalls causing bags to go flying and me a split lip, it so happens mama might have raised a bit of a fool after all.
While in Kuala lumpar, i of course headed to the Petronas Towers, an architectural marvel with some delicate Islamic designs, (ok so here comes the info) they were the tallest buildings in the world until 2004 when Taipei 101 surpassed it but are still the highest twin towers in the world at over 452metre which 266 x my height and has 88 floors and people say i don't withhold information. So it was an early start and i arrived at the towers at half eight and there was a massive queue but i waited patiently and after two hours i got my timeslot, 12.45. the doors shut at 10 past nine as they already filled their quota for the day so it pays to get there early. when it finally was my time to go, we watched a 3D film about the towers before heading to the lift, you are unable to go onto the top floor but only to the sky walk bridge between the towers on the 42nd floor, 170m above street level, so i was there minding my own business taking photos of the view when it happened, i finally got the recognition i deserved, have I confused you ok i will start at the beginning.
So i was there minding my own business and most of the people in my timeslot was a school group, so after a few minutes a young boy comes up to me asking "you photo" so thinking he wanted me take a photo of his group i agreed when suddenly there was a cheer from the school kids and they surround me while their teacher takes a picture of me surrounded by the kids with all 20 cameras after that an Indian family wanted their photo with me, all i could think that they mistaken me for a famous person but after speaking to a few other backpackers it seems that this is a regular occurrence, so i didn't feel that special after finding out this information but still quite special.
Kuala lumpur is a easy city to get around by walking and the food is fabulous and cheap, the only disappointment that i didn't see one oompa lumpur - Willy Wonka lied, thinking about it I'm not 100% sure that willy wonka said that they were from kuala lumpur but its a logical conclusion.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb