Travel Blog #1


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
November 30th 2007
Published: December 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

My LivingroomMy LivingroomMy Livingroom

Anyone who saw my old apartment in TO will agree I have moved up in the world.

Travel Blog #1



Well here it is. I'm finally sending out a blog. There is so much to tell and show already, but I will try to keep it brief.

Home:

Malaysia is located at 2 30 N, 112 30 E. That means we get 12 months of summer with a few rainy seasons thrown in for fun when the sun passes over on its journey between the tropics. The population is 24,821,286 and it breaks down like this: Malay 50.4%!,(MISSING) Chinese 23.7%!,(MISSING) indigenous 11%!,(MISSING) Indian 7.1%!,(MISSING) others 7.8%! (MISSING)The different groups are pretty disparate and their is a big advertising campaign going on right now to try create a sense of a unified Malaysian identity that is inclusive of all groups.

In terms of religion it breaks down like this: Muslim 60.4%!,(MISSING) Buddhist 19.2%!,(MISSING) Christian 9.1%!,(MISSING) Hindu 6.3%!,(MISSING) Confucianism, Taoism, other traditional Chinese religions 2.6%!,(MISSING) other or unknown 1.5%!,(MISSING) none 0.8%! (MISSING)

(I'm sure any of my students reading this feel like their back in my Geography class.... and yes, this will be on the test.)

I live in a very western area. It is nice because it is very easy to live here and
My buildingMy buildingMy building

A friend of mine calls my building 'the trousers'.
everyone speaks English, but it is a bit disappointing in terms of experiencing new culture. I have bought a motorcylce and now I can travel a bit more and see more local communities.





Indonesia:

Indonesia has sort of been my home away from home away from home. I travel there whenever I have a few days off, in no small part due to a special person living there named Lisa. Travel is pretty cheap here. Flying to Jakarta for the weekend would be the equivalent of going to the family cottage back home in terms of cost and travel time.

Indonesia is the 4th most populous country in the world. It is an archipelago of 17,508 islands. The actual number is always in flux due to the forces or erosion and volcanoism. There are over 120 live volcanos in Indonesia. There is over 300 ethnic groups in Indonesia. The breakdown is as follows. Javanese 40.6%, Sundanese 15%, Madurese 3.3%, Minangkabau 2.7%, Betawi 2.4%, Bugis 2.4%, Banten 2%, Banjar 1.7%, other or unspecified 29.9%. It is predominantly a muslim country. The breakdown of religions is as follows: Muslim 86.1%, Protestant 5.7%, Roman Catholic 3%,
The PoolThe PoolThe Pool

Here is the pool and restaurant. A nice place to relax on a Saturday when I find the time.
Hindu 1.8%, other or unspecified 3.4%.

Jakarta:

What can I say about Jakarta. It is the craziest city I have visited. In Bangkok anything is possible, but as my friend Slamet said, "In Jakarta, everything is possible." It is a huge city with oppressive traffic and engulfing pollution. Poverty is rampant. There are squatters living along the canals and rail tracks in little shacks. There is of course no garbage collection or sanitation in those areas so as you can imagine, it is a mess. People do all kinds of things to make a megre living. There are places where there are high occupancy lanes in which you need to have three passengers in your car. People will stand at the beginning of the lane to rent themselves out as passengers if you don't have enough people in your car to use the lane. It is probably worth the cost to break out of the gridlock. Floods and power outages are not uncommon. The infrastructure has not kept up with population growth. But it is a city full of life and culture. There are many traditional markets and excellent food at very cheap prices. I have found the
My RideMy RideMy Ride

This little 135cc liquid cooled engine really kicks ass. I wouldn't have believed it if I didn't experience it for myself. It cruises at 150 km on the highway and is very stable. My fingers get tinggly after a long ride though.
people to be kind and welcoming.

Endnotes:

Well, I have finally done it. I have completed my first blog. Now that I know how this works I will try to send these out more regualarly. I hope you enjoy my pictures and stories, but please feel no obligation to respond. However, if you do wish to comment or respond I welcome it. My next blog will be about school life and Bali.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

PollutionPollution
Pollution

The pollution in Jakarta makes me feel sad and worrysome. With increasing number of vehicles and people each year it only looks like it is going to get worse unless something is done. The government is working on regulations to reduce car usage.
Tangkuban Perahu MountainTangkuban Perahu Mountain
Tangkuban Perahu Mountain

My first horse ride. We rode up to the top of an active volcano. I didn't actually get to use the reins. The horses were guided by someone, but it was still pretty cool.
Tangkuban Perahu MountainTangkuban Perahu Mountain
Tangkuban Perahu Mountain

Standing infront of a volcanic crator.
North Jakarta RestaurantNorth Jakarta Restaurant
North Jakarta Restaurant

What you see on the table is actually the menu. You just eat the dishes you want and leave the rest.
Da Vinci BuildingDa Vinci Building
Da Vinci Building

Great wealth and the very modern is also to be found in Jakarta.
SCTVSCTV
SCTV

Second City fans rejoice. SCTV is alive and well.
Leaving North JakartaLeaving North Jakarta
Leaving North Jakarta

I have talked about the pollution, but it would not be fair if I did not include this picture to show that there are places of natural beauty around Jarkta.


2nd December 2007

woo hoo! 1st comment!
Congratulations on your first blog! Nicely done!
5th December 2007

First Horse Ride?
Ah...that is the smallest horse I've ever seen...I'd ask for my money back John. Sure it wasn't a German Sheppard dressed up to look like a horse?
5th December 2007

too amazing!
Hey John, Wow! Great to hear from you. The pics and geography lesson was the tops. I love the idea of the blog. A nice way to keep in touch. We are still gigging doin' the best we can -- ".. well it's all right, running around in the breeze... " talk to soon again, Al,
5th December 2007

Mneigh
Hey John! Glad to see all is going well for you, seems as though you have established youself quite well. I'm envious of the 12 month summer thing but am glad you're happy. I'm assuming Lisa is the one in the pics. Tell her I said Mneigh! Keep in touch, I like the Blog thing very cool. Sean
5th December 2007

Happy Holidays!
Hey John! Very cool blog. I should really set one up myself. Happy to know you're enjoying life! Smiles, Ixchell
6th December 2007

thanks for the travel blog
Hello John! Very nice to hear from you and hear all about the places you have been visiting and about where you are living. Quite a switch from Yukon living, and since I do not get out much, it is nice to hear about different places in the world, such as you are visiting. Keep in touch. All the best for a happy holiday and happy new year too! luv Georgia
6th December 2007

Torturous
John, I am just showing my Grade 11 World Religions class a video on the Inquisition which involves lots of torture and now you throw in your photos and it is another form of torture as I know exactly the beauties you are experiencing and here I am stuck in -10 C weather with blowing snow, being rearended and flat tires in the cold. Good for you, I agree that both Malaysia and Indonesia are two amazing countries. I look forward to seeing more on your blog-if I can stand the torture. good luck with the relationship too.
10th December 2007

very good blog
I am glad to hear from you and it seems that you really enjoy your life there.It's great!
13th December 2007

random
i got this travel blog from teresa liang. she also said a lot of great things about u. i wanna visit malaysia someday
17th December 2007

Excellent snapshot of your world. I look forward to your next one. Maybe I should do a travel blog when i am in Fulton over the Holidays..... now that would be exciting :) Wishing you (and Lisa too) a Happy Holiday Season.
23rd December 2007

Fulton
Hey, Thanks for dropping a line on the blog. All the best to everyone and Merry Christmas. Say hi to Rob. John
31st December 2007

telephone call
So great hearing from you at Christmas. Thanks so much for staying up til 2 a.m. Hope you have a wonderful, healthly and happy 2008.
25th January 2008

Happy New Year
John, Lynda forwarded your blog to us. Jim and I have just been looking it over. So happy that things are going so well for you. What an interesting place to be...big change from GoData days. All the best to you and to Lisa for 2008. Hope to hear more soon. Ena

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb