In the beginning... there was flight


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
September 5th 2007
Published: September 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!

Writing from a computer at the Number 8 Guesthouse in Kuala Lumpur and I still can't quite believe I'm here... although it's so humid and sticky I definitely can't be in England! 32 degrees!

After a great 'last supper' with my school friends (thanks guys) I caught the bus from Chesterfield early on Tues, eventually managed to doze off - just as we reached Heathrow!

I struggled with the big old backpack to get down the escalators - THEN realised I could have taken the lift! Lots of waiting around there, although I'm glad I took the earlier bus because it would definitely have been a bit tight. I don't remember them asking you to put your shoes under the conveyor belt as well as your bags! Even little kids' shoes!

I was SO excited when we got on the plane and saw the air stewards in traditional dress - it hit me that I was going back to Singapore (well, to the airport anyway) after 14 years! I'd managed to bag an aisle seat too (thanks for the tip Dad) and was chatting to the friendly couple beside me and deciding which of the
Rach, Nat and MeRach, Nat and MeRach, Nat and Me

Thanks for the 'Last Supper' girls!
huge list of films I wanted to watch when I realised my TV screen wasn't working...

So I had to swap to the WINDOW seat behind next a not-so-friendly couple! Not very comfortable, hardly slept. But the food was good (chicken stir fry) and got to watch Shrek III after all.

We were slightly delayed when landing at Singapore so I literally had to LEG IT to catch the connecting flight to KL, it was 'last call' so was sweating a bit!

Tonight we had a welcome dinner (chicken jalfrezi) with the girls who are on the project with me, and some others who have already been and loved it! People are tired but think we'll get on great.

Anyway I have to have a shower now and get to bed - it's 11pm and we're heading off to the Perhentian Islands tomorrow morning at the lovely time of 6.45am. I don't think I'll be having a good night's sleep until I get back!

Thinking of you all at home, hope you're ok. I think I can put pictures up on here at one of the bigger resorts on Turtle Island so I'll get snapping! (See the turtle reference there!)

-E




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

At the No. 8 GuesthouseAt the No. 8 Guesthouse
At the No. 8 Guesthouse

Pointing to KL on the map - looking tired as it was 6.45am!
Kuala LumpurKuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur

From the taxi ride from KL Airport to the hostel


6th September 2007

nice
Nice to hear from you sis.....glad the flight was OK in the end....although the thought of a sleepless night, stir-fry and then having to leg it across an airport does sound a bit gip-worthy! Look forward to hearing about the turtles. Hopefully you'll be less shell-shocked by then (mwuhahaha)?! - M x
14th September 2007

Bananas
Aw, glad your trip isn't going to be a 'turtle' disaster. (Did you see what I did there?) Keep writing - it's great. Us Brits will have to live vicariously through you now if we want to see that orange ball thingy in the sky ever again!!!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb