Road trip to Kuala Lumpur & beyond


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
January 3rd 2007
Published: January 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Twin Towers The Twin Towers The Twin Towers

Took this while waiting for the fireworks to start.

Beyond our shores for the new year (29th December to 2 January 2007)



A and I met up after my work for our coach journey to Kuala Lumpur at 7pm on 29th December. I was planning to drop whatever I was doing at 5.30pm sharp to grab a quick dinner before boarding the coach at Golden Mile. As luck would have it, my VP came by at 4.50pm, dashing all my travel plans. To cut the story short, I was held up until 6.10pm before changing out of my office gear and dashing across the road to meet A. I was supposed to collect my coach tickets at 6.30pm! My VP was still around and I had to tell her that I need to rush to Malaysia in order to free myself from the office.

Anyway, we wasted no time packing our dinner before rushing over to Golden Mile. A good 10 minutes was spent locating the Konsortium Express at Golden Mile Complex before the security guard told us that it was actually located at Golden Mile Tower next to it. Alamak!

6.40pm - We finally reached the travel agency, collected our bus tickets and boarded the 26 seater coach. It was full house and we were relegated to the last row of the bus. We were happily having our sandwiches when the unfriendly driver told us to “makan outside” the coach.

The coach departed Golden Mile minutes after 7pm stopping by at the crowded customs and the notorious Yong Peng rest station before continuing our journey north to KL.

After a good 6 hours and 1am on 30th December 2006, ~ Selamat Datang, Welcome to Puduraya Bus-station. This was going to my 5th time into the Malaysian Capital. It was going to be another different experience with new sights and activities to take in from where I left previously in 2003. However, unlike previous trip, everything was pre-arranged thanks to CY and there wasn't much trip planning to do on our part.

CY had reached Puduraya by 1am and was ready to pick us up to where his place was at Petaling Jaya, about 30 minutes from KL. Enroute, we had a simple supper with his mum and brother before reaching his place. Home was a mid-size cosy house in a peaceful little neighbourhood. A and I occupied one of the room upstairs. We had cold bath that morning as we had difficulties using the shower heater. This was a small matter compared to the fact that our accommodation in KL was fully taken care of.

For now, it was lights off for everybody as we would be continuing our journey to Penang later this morning.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb