KL 15th


Advertisement
Published: April 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Good evening all,

well here I am, all rugged up in my monogrammed robe because the airconditioner wont go any hotter. last night I slept with the doona up round my ears as I left the aircon on all night. I must have rolled over a dozen times as the doona was a shambles this morning, with me cocooned in the middle somewhere. I nearly had to ring for someone to help me untangle me out of the twisted enwrapment of warm duck down.

I had intentions of cracking out the ironing board to make myself really look the part for the first day of business. However, after realised that after having a shower there might not be enough time, what with dressing for breakfast, having breakfast, then changing into work gear and heading down to the conference room. so i hung the shirt in the bathrooom while having a shower and the old trick worked a treat - whalla - freshly ironed shirt.

I made a coffee in the room to wake me up. In this part of the world, it is rare to have a milk jug, and never a fresh drop in the room itself. there is this powder called creama, that is supposed to be palatable. well i tried it for the first time, and it doesnt cut the mustard (a phrase needing disection another time). after a few sips it had to go. sorry to say but i reckon i might have reached the point in my life where instant coffee is no more. maybe it was just the creama which ruined it. I am now having tea without milk - not easy, its horrible, but better than powdered chemicals fouling the blend. While I am here on the subject, I was down at breakfast yesterday sitting not too far from a couple enjoying their breakfast. This aging duo were not of a local decent, but I am too polite to mention their nationality. Mr Runwani was desperately looking around for the cream sachet's and eventually asked the passing dish boy where it was. He pointed to jug of fresh milk.... there. The gentleman was none too impressed in having to endure the liquid stuff. Well, I never. I continued with my smoked salmon and home made yoghurts trying carefully to not let an audible mmmmm escape.

Where were we, ah thats right, this morning. So after a shower and a two course breakfast - thats right, i am cutting back these days. Cant fit in what I used to. I changed into my freshly ironed shirt and brand new leather shoes and headed down to the training, in the capocobana room. I have heard this name before many times in my life, but for some reason, I have never said it before. I was on a rekky yesty to get to know my surroundings. Arriving in the expanse of opulance and decadence of the hall, i was greeted by your one the 12th floor boy, I try to ask him where the room was. Five attempts later, i give up, and convert it to a two word 5 syllable mess announced at the speed of one syllable per second. he looks at me in amazement and we head off to read each of the room names to see if any matched my mumblings. room found, i quickly make my escape up the circular staircase that was wide enough to have a road centreline dividing peak hour traffic.

Todays training had its ups and downs, but I managed to finish the day unscathed and on top, with no need for any homework, not like some poor souls in the room. Another amazing day in paradise, finished with two for one red wines in the bar, reading the local paper listening to jazz and easy classics. Hence why I am writing you this at 11pm at night. Well good night, my doona awaits, looking pristine, pressed, folded and wrapped, all king like. ah the air will stay on tonight.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb