Deep dive, Navigation dive and Night dive!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Terengganu » Perhentian Besar
September 25th 2007
Published: September 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

WOW, what a busy day! It was only me that decided to do my Advanced, and Jon was my instructor again. First thing this morning we went to Fish House for my deep dive (you have to do deep and navigation dive to pass) Fish House was a load of bamboo poles in the middle of the sea that fisherman have put there to attract the fish, so my first worry was that I might get caught in a fishing net ! ha ha, I had to do a maths test on land and one at 30 metres to see if I got Nitrogen Narcosis (drunk feeling but some people take regulators out and don't know what they're doing). The test took me 9 secs on land but only 8 secs underwater!!!! So basically I'm brighter under the sea.

There were loads of fish obviously but we were followed by yellow bat fish the whole time, they were very cool and eating what looked like jelly in front of me.

This afternoon I did my navigation dive usually this is done in pairs and the instructor waits at where you should end up but as I was on my own Jon just followed me around.

I had to swim along a 30m rope line and count how many kick cycles I did, then using my compass I had to navigate a straight line, a triangle and a square with 20 kick cycles each side of the shape! I actually got them all spot on though and finshed off where I should have been, shocking I know!

Then we swam around looking at the coral and fish for a while then Jon made me cover up my eyes, spun me round and then I had to lead HIM back to shore! I lost him for a while which was very scary but found him again, using my compass and natural navigation I actually got is back to the right section of the beach, don't ask me how I think it was just luck! Jon was very proud and shared his packet of cookies with me!

Then I had to do my night dive, Sarah did it with me as well because when she was supposed to do her night dive she was poorly. It was pretty scary and we didn't get off to a very good start, we picked up our BCDs to attach to our tanks and a massive spider ran across the bench in to Jon's BCD, Sarah and I were screaming and running about, it didn't really calm our nerves!

We had to navigate a straight line again but that wasn't too bad, we saw some cool stuff though, different to the day everything looks fluffy as all the coral comes awake at night. I did enjoy it but was also glad when it was over, it was quite strange and don't know if I would do another one, maybe just stick to daytime diving.

Jon gave Sarah and I HOT CHOCOLATE (it was like xmas) and then gave us some fun stamps to stamp our log books, it didn't take us long to start stamping each other, we were covered by the time we were finished, Jon found it highly amusing but wouldn't be stamped himself!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb