Wreck and Photography dive


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Terengganu » Perhentian Besar
September 26th 2007
Published: September 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This morning I went to Sugar Wreck, up to that point it was my favourite dive, the wreck was so cool, it had an air pocket 7 metres below sea level which Jon and I went up to. I saw my first squid which there were 8 of, I didn't know what they were so I pulled on Jon's fin and asked him what they were he did the sign for squid which happened to be a dance move from the dive dance at Long Beach so i cracked up laughing and my mask flooded!

Saw lots of schools of different fish which Jon was swimming up behind,then scaring them so they all swam off in another direction, it looked wicked though.

This afternoon to complete my Advanced I did the photography dive, we just went off shore and I told Jon he had to find me a turtle as he hasn't once found me one! Once I had all my gear on I realised I hadn't turned my air on so I had to embarrasingly ask Jon to do it for me (terrible student) but just as we got in the water Jon asked if I could turn his on, he had forgotten too! I didn't feel so bad after that.

I started off quite slowly, taking photos of cleaner shrimps, nemo's and pipe fish. The Jon tapped his tank...... he'd seen a turtle!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So I found her and took some photo's but she soon went up to the surface for some air and I lost her.

We carried on swimming around again, I was taking some photo's of anemones when I heard a tapping again Jon had found another TURTLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This time though she let me get so close, I got so many photos of her, I watched her eating and swimming about, I took a photo of Jon with her and Jon took one of me with her, it was the most fantastic experience ever, I was so lucky she let me get so close to her I can't have been more than a couple of feet away from her, I can't even think of the words to describe how excited I was, I will never forget it.

Unfortunately we had to head back as I was running low on air, Jon and I were really happy, I was shouting so loud when we got to the surface everyone on the beach guessed I'd seen one. Jon gave me another HOT CHOCOLATE (the best instructor) and we shared another packet of cookies (I'm certainly not losing any weight!). He expected me to get 3 or 4 good photos as he said it's really tricky and takes a lot of practice. I took 90 photos in total and he was really impressed with about 15 of them ( I will post some on here as soon as I get to KL, promise).

So I am now an Advanced diver, I'm so pleased I decided to do it, it only cost 100 pound and the experience I got you just can't put a price on, when I get home my walls are going to be covered with mu underwater photos, I love them, I looked at them on a laptop and some of them are fantastic (well I think anyway but I'm biased).

Advertisement



28th September 2007

WOW
Sounds amazing, especially the fact that you are more intelligent under the water! I think I could manage the hot chocolate bit, but not sure I have the guts to do the rest.
28th September 2007

wow sounds sooooo amazing ur so so lucky, im so proud of u, coming from someone who wen we first went to Ibiza wouldnt go swimming in the sea lol!!! I have also printed out all your travel blogs for everyone my end to read, im sure there guna love hearing how ur gettin on!! Look forward to spking to u sat, miss u, love u xxxx

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb