The most random collection of museums


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
June 12th 2011
Published: June 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After enjoying a much needed shower after returning from the national park and having lunch I checked out Kuching's art and craft shops. Most of what they sell is generally the same and most of that is cheap tacky souvenirs, but some of it is amazing art work just impossible to transport without breaking. After buying a few things and getting arty myself I headed down to the river for dinner at the 'Little Lebanon' restaurant. Not having a clue what I had ordered which is generally the case I was surprised when I received a plate of rice and then some fridge cold fish tasting rather sour serviced on a piece of lettuce, not sure whether it was nice or not I just ate it. Then had fried ice cream to change the taste in my mouth (thats what I told myself anyway).

Today I had a museum day and visited the textile museum, art museum, history museum and exhibition museum. First the exhibition museum consisted of a fossil wood gallery. Basically wood fossils formed by carbonization aged between two million and twelve million years! All from around Borneo mostly Sarawak. A very interesting collection. The art museum had a display on the Gawi festival that was very interesting and an amazing collection of art work, although all different types of art including birds made out of tin cans. The history museum was the most random of all it was filled with dead animals, literally filled in a very small space, there were even dead fish in glasses filled with water, cows and a goat and more bird species than I think are now alive in Borneo! Yet no information... The textile museum was quiet interesting with a display on what materials the Iban communities use and how they make mats, baskets, hats and clothes. Overall though I found the displays randomly put together and areas of the museums where they kept things in boxes in view like there was no where else to keep them.
Taking a walk around 'Little India' street I couldn't resist a fresh waffle mmm, good for cheap clothes and shoes though. Relaxing by the river was enjoyable especially with the random music. Kebab for dinner was good just a but on the small side.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb