Kubah NP


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
June 11th 2011
Published: June 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Having debated about whether to spend a few days out at a national park the decision was made for me when the hostel didnt have any beds available for two nights. So with Zoe, Sally and Lee heading over to KK today i decided to spend two days relaxing at Matang Wildlife Center. Not really intending to do much as i wanted to rest my ankle before i attempt Mt Kinabalu next week but there are plently of wildlife there and they do feeding twice a day, which i thought would be enjoyable. The only problem was getting there. The only option to get there was either taxi or private minibus's which leave when full. Trying to get a private minibus the driver eventually turned up after half an hour of waiting and people telling you all different information, why cant they just give a straight answer? The driver wasnt sure when or if the bus would depart. After asking around i was told a public bus would take me within a 20min walk and was shown to where the bus departed from. After reconferming with the bus driver where the bus would drop me off i paid 2rm and was
Turtle PondTurtle PondTurtle Pond

I never did see a turtle
on my way. 40mins later he dropped me off at a junction that said Kubah Park 3.4km, Matang wildlife centre 15km!! What to do? Driver no help! just told me to wait and a bus might arrive sometime in the next few hours.
So i decided to walk to Kubah NP and see what i could do from there. I managed to hitch-hike half the way but was drained when i arrived. They said i could walk 3-4hrs to Matang wildlife centre or pay 20rm for a taxi. In the end a managed to get them to transfer my accomadation to Kubah and stayed there for two nights. There was no cafe or shop there so i went to the family park to buy food, for the first time in my life 2minute noodles and they didnt have any instructions on how to cook them on them : O I worked it out. Visiting twice the owner of the cafe spoke very good English and enjoyed telling me the same story both days, bless old age. Other than plan Indonesia and read i didnt really do much at Kubah a very relaxing two days. The accomadation was good, it was like a mini house with a kitchen, living area and dorm rooms.
Getting back to Kuching was slightly easier, all i had to do was walk the 3.4km to the junction and wait 20mins for the private minibus to arrive. The staff at Kubah advised me to wait there and one may come by in the next 3hrs or so, MAY.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0861s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb