Dear Mr Paintball


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
June 2nd 2010
Published: June 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Paintballing
My paintballing cherry was popped a few days ago. A bit of harmless fun. Or?
I was invited along to go paintballing with some of the local uni guys, and thought that it sounded better than going to see a tacky local film without a story line, plot, or acting talent.
Nick, Dav and I caught a taxi there, with visibility on the roads at about 2 metres, because of the torrential tropical downpour that decided to come along at the same time. Luckily, the paintball area was under a roof, although the rain on the tin was pretty loud and I couldn't really hear anything anyone else was saying, unless they yelled in my ear. Our 'body armour' consisted of a face mask, and a vest that was foam, and came down to my belly button. That's all. As they showed us the guns and how to use them, the movie was sounding like a pretty good alternative.
All together, there were 8 of us, so we split into 2 teams, fitted our armour, and went out onto the field to get to either end of the park. The aim was last team standing. We did quite well I thought, I shot someone in the face, and managed to avoid getting shot at all. So far, so good. A couple of rounds later, and after sweating and running around a bit, the mask's we were wearing started to fog up. I couldn't see anything except the faint shadows of people. Or maybe what I was shooting at was just a thing to hide behind. Either way, I didn't see who ever it was who shot me in the face, just below my belly button, and a nice pearler on my inner arm. The purple welt flared up on my arm, and was stinging quite a bit, and if the one on my stomach had hit me 10cm lower... well, I would've squealed a lot.
We changed teams, and put a flag in the middle that we needed to capture and return to our end. I was in the middle of the park, hiding, and peeking to my right, thinking a team mate was on the left of me. He wasn't. I got ambushed and shot on the left side of my ribs and point blank range. When I put my hand up to indicate I'd been shot, Dav kept shooting, managing to leave some splattered paint down my entire left side.
6000 pellets and 2.5 hours later, we'd finally had enough and most of us were nursing some painful sores here and there, although I think I got about 10 decent hits on me. So, would I go again? Hell yeah.

Advertisement



2nd June 2010

SOUNDS FUN
Be careful :)

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb