Poly wash


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Pretoria
June 8th 2010
Published: June 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hmmm... Picture this. I'm staying at a university house, with a bunch of various students who come and go, and there's a big tall fence with even taller electric fence on top of that. It feels like a prison, not that I know what that's like but I can imagine. Over night there's a security guard who sits out the front in the freezing cold, to make sure we don't get robbed. Or molested. Or whatever happens here.
The residents of this house are all university academics who are into politics, and religion, and, despite the conservatism, they love their booze and cigarettes.
I wasn't planning on writing a blog about these people, because on the whole they may seem boring, but I thought I should share the conversation that I've been listening to for the past few hours.
It started off as a a harmless discussion about the different universities that a couple of the guys go to, but ended up in a huge debate about how much language and linguistics is apparently more interesting that accounting and economics. Really?! Who give's a shit?? It was light hearted but everyone kept going around in circles, trying to argue the same point over and over again. Maybe the goon bag that is emptying quickly isn't helping the cause, but I'm glad it's here, because otherwise I'd be asleep or telling everybody to shut the hell up. I don't really know, but I thought I'd share with anyone interested. Probably no one, but that's ok, I promise something interesting will happen to me soon. I hope.
So if you're still reading this after all that, well done. And maybe the next entry will be done sober.
Speaking of sober, I saw a funny name for a driving school a couple days ago; there was a bloke sitting in a car, and on the door there was big red lettering saying; "Sober Up Driving School".
After all, T.I.A....

Advertisement



9th June 2010

Hey, if you're interested in paintballing and have a spare moment, there are some good courses near you (assuming you're still in Pretoria). "The Woods" Paintball and "Field 19". Just look them up on the internet. Good guys and amazing fields! Fascinating blog - I have no idea what you're on about but hey, hope you're having fun. Cheers, Greg

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb